We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My sister-in-law and I were very impressed with how well the property was
taken care of........while we were there they happened to be shampooing
the upholstered furniture.
Liked that Internet was available readily in the reception area.
Reception area was a nice respite when you didn't want to be in your room.
Also there were nice places outside to sit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdjelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 648 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

Management has done a good job of making a place look attractive; breakfast room is entirely too small for the size of the property; continental breakfast pretty sparce considering I had just stay in a Days Inn in Asheville for less money and had a full buffet breakfast each morning. Desk stay outstanding in customer service. Pool was not heated and wasn't pleasant to stay in it very long. Beds were comfortable and the room was average. Had free internet service in the lobby which was very good. They have blocked an otherwise beautiful view with some tall pine trees. Wish we had gone on a couple of more miles to the Best Western in Maggie Valley; I would have thought I was getting more for my money. The rate wasn't that friendly for checking in at 8 pm and leaving at 9 the next morning and the place wasn't full.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank channingway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Great view of mountains, easy access to downtown and highway, nice pool, well maintained. Will def. stay here again.

Thank RozFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed three nights during a family reunion. This is a clean property, with free wifi, but other than that, a rather dated motel with inadequate climate control. The ac never managed to cut the humidity; we either froze or felt clammy. On the third night, the hot water was not hot. Amenities are minimal; I had to request an extra towel and it was cheerfully given. If you are used to the newer-style motels with inside access, this is a come down. We did sleep ok; the king bed was comfortable. Another time, we would consider the (few) other options in town. (Hope Holiday Inn Express will decide to build in the area soon.) We understood it was tourist season, but the rate was too high for the room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

A nice place to stay with great 'curb appeal'. Gardens, small outdoor pool, and mountain view were top-notch. Room clean and comfortable with fridge and microwave. Breakfast was basic: coffee, pastries, juice, and cereal.
Though comparably priced with other lodging in area, the price seems high for what you get. It is a motel vs. hotel type of lodging. We stayed at a Best Western in Boone NC the night before--a BW hotel with numerous amenities--for about $15 less than our Smoky Mountain stay. Later in our trip, another chain motel cost us about $25 less. We know it's all about location, but wanted to remind travelers the Smoky Mountain Best Western is more a motel, not hotel. You might want to shop around.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChippyCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I have been staying at the Smoky Mtn Inn for 20 years. I am amazed at how everytime I return, it looks newer. The manangement has done a great jobe of keeping this property up dated. The rooms are older but are immaculate. The view of the mountains from the rooms is breath taking. The breakfast is typical hotel breakfast (breads, boiled eggs, oatmeal, grits, etc). I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timangelalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Easy access from the freeway and the BRP. Colorful flowers around the pool, stairways, and office. WIFI in our room worked fine although the clerk warned it was "iffy." King room was spacious with a table & chairs, a sofa, and both mini-fridge and microwave. The breakfast includes breadstuffs, cereal, juice, and hardboiled eggs. The toaster burnt my toast because I used a higher setting than on the bagel side which barely warmed the bagel, so be careful! The coffee is weaker than my husband likes. I liked having a tub instead of a tiny shower stall, and the showerhead is adjustable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaylilyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
5.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Maggie Valley
300 reviews
15.3 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
524 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Maggie Valley - Cherokee Area
6 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn

Address: 130 Shiloh Trl, Waynesville, NC 28786-9007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range: $93 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smoky Mountain Hotel Waynesville
Best Western Waynesville
Waynesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing