We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sweet Onion

The Sweet Onion
Ranked #3 of 115 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Never have I had a disappointing meal at Sweet Onion. Staff is beyond friendly and helpful. Food is consistently good. Some favorites are Weiner Schniztel, Shrimp and Grits, Blackberry Ribs, Bacon Meatloaf, Trout, and their house salad with lemongrass dressing is my absolute favorite. They also serve warm cheddar biscuits, before dinner that are usually inhaled by my husband. Their specials are almost always good, as well, usually offering fresh fish - but a little pricey. Make sure to make a reservation on weekends, or else you could be waiting a long time. Every time my parents visit, they want to come here. Definitely recommend if you are looking for a great night out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JillLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    279
    81
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, NC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Food much improved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have reviewed this restaurant before. I have always felt like the service was great, the food was good, nothing special, and over priced. I still think it is a bit over priced but the last 4 meals we have had were excellent. Tonight we had the special which was Mahi Mahi stuffed with blue crab over lime risotto with a buerre blanc sauce. It was divine. My daughter loves the chicken with blackberry barbecue sauce. We have a German exchange student living with us and she loved their version of Schnitzel which she thought was excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lwood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dinner in Waynesville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were told that it was the best restaurant in town. The food was good. Not a five star restaurant, but good fair, menu extensive, service fast and great. Make a reservation on busy weekends!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank argentineborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bright spot on the dining scene!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good times and happy memories! Great, affordable restaurant if you are jonesing for a little bit o' Southern! As Waynesville residents, Sweet Onion is a constant in our restaurant repertoire.
Food is consistently good and the bar is one of the best in town. Service is always friendly. In addition to it's large menu offerings, it offers daily specials which keeps the locals coming back for the newest listings. Highly recommend the chicken salad sandwich, the tomato stack, and the meatloaf. Even the wiener schnitzel is worth a look. You will never leave hungry and I guarantee you will return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phooved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
289 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Excellent Salmon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

My wife and I had lunch at the Sweet Onion, and I ordered their grilled Salmon accompanied with two sides, fried okra and cole slaw. I asked for the mango salsa to be put on the side, instead of on the salmon, which was not a problem. The mango salsa was actually delicious, with chopped mango, tomato, cilantro, and some kind of spicy sauce that had a nice bite to it. The grilled salmon was absolutely wonderful, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes salmon. Prior to your meal being served, the server also provides an ample amount of their bisuits, which are delicious as well. They are crunchy on the outside and soft and warm inside. A nice appetizer while your meal is prepared. The wait is not long at all for the meal. The restaurant opens for lunch at 11:30 weekdays. Excellent food and service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gdt655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sweet Onion also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Sweet Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing