We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit very good except ...”
Review of The Sweet Onion

The Sweet Onion
Ranked #3 of 119 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Return visit very good except ...”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had dinner at the Sweet Onion tonight after being away about 18 months. Their high standards seem to still be in place. My wife had the short ribs burger with blue cheese and it was very flavorful and tender. I had the trout and it was very good. Our server jess was very good. We told her we were in a hurry and she handled that well. Our meal was delivered promptly and the ice tea never got very low. She was knowledgeable about the food and answered questions cheerfully.

We were seated in front of the kitchen and on the way from the front door to many of the tables. It was noisy but it gave me an opportunity to watch. At one point a staff person (not our server) opened a cabinet and a set of lids for to-go cups fell on the floor. The person picked them up and put them back in the cabinet. From their floor to your mouth. I hope other habits like in the kitchen follow better practices but it makes you wonder.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    287
    82
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistantly Wonderful”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Ok, so I've been back several times since the last review I wrote of The Sweet Onion in 2009. A few times with friends, a couple of times alone. Wow! I've had something different each time. Every time the food, appetizer and main course, has been nothing short of excellent. Plus the service is great and I love the atmosphere. You won't be disappointed. Oh, and I would say it's a great place for a romantic Anniversary dinner. I would make the 2 1/2 hour drive for it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annecordelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ribs with a twist”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had the pork spare ribs which were excellent, my wife enjoyed the crab crusted salmon which was also excellent. Service was good and the wine list reasonably priced with single glass selections available. They DON'T take Amex - how old fashioned.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I was not impressed”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I thought I would finally give this place a shot. I ordered southern fried okra with country fried steak. First the Okra was something from a freezer, not freshly fried. The country fried steak was so tough it was a joke at best. I may go back and order something different..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good overall restaurant”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

One of the few more up-scale restaurants in Waynesville that's not overly priced. Good food, wine list and service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sweet Onion also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Sweet Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing