We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and casual, refined atmosphere!”
Review of The Sweet Onion

The Sweet Onion
Ranked #3 of 120 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and casual, refined atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The New York strip special with gorgonzola mashed potatoes was fabulous! The interior is warm and inviting and very comfortable. Our server was excellent and was very helpful in helping to make a selection. I would also endorse the wine list as very respectable with excellent pricing. All in all, a very nice and relaxing dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRHinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    302
    89
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ellijay, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had lunch there on our day of arrival and went back the next day. Our group wanted to eat all their meals there! This was definately the best find in Waynesville. Have the signature soup and definately the crab cake

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank annonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An absolute delight!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

On a side street in old downtown Waynesville(which was very interesting with great shops) the Sweet Onion was a surprising experience. The food was just excellent and not overpriced. A little noisy because of the decor. We highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SkiLoverofCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, NC
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ahhhhhhhhhh! Great Food! Worth Going To!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We traveled to Waynesville for a weekend and ate at the Sweet Onion for a special occasion. We started out with the onion soup. It is TO DIE FOR! Not so bouilliony but a creamy onion soup with a great topping. My husband and I split it and I wish I had my own! I had the pecan chicken salad on sourdough bread which is topped with bacon and cheese. Also, absolutely the best! My husband had the country style steak. He loved it. The sides of okra and macaroni and cheese were good but nothing to rave about. The serving sizes were plentiful and generous! Worth your money! Service was very good! If you have a chance to go to the restaurant for lunch or dinner.....GO!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoxDaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, North Carolina
2 reviews
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

There are absolutely no dislikes! The service was excellent, the food was even better, and the atmosphere was fun and inviting. The staff was most pleasant (esp. the bartender) and very accommodating. Members of our party ordered the meatloaf dinner and the lemon chicken; we would definitely order these entrees again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sweet Onion also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Sweet Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing