We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was great”

Maggie's Galley Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 119 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "What great seafood!" We hear that all of the time and we are thankful to our diners. Great seafood in the Great Smoky Mountains of Western North Carolina just a few miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway. Come join us at our new location just off of the Great Smoky Mountain Expressway (US Hwy 23) and see what everyone is talking about. From our full bar including beer and wine to appetizers, delicious entrees, and our house-made desserts, we are proud to serve you with our courteous wait staff in comfortable dining. We serve weekday lunch specials, and our full menu every evening and weekends with a special Sunday brunch.
Wauchula Fl
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This was great”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a great experience! Great chowder and scallop sandwich unique and good! Service was great. It is a place that will be remembered because of decor... The service was choice as well. Been here for two weeks and I will go back'

Helpful?
Thank floridaPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    134
    33
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was told of this place by my friend, so we were traveling through and thought we would give it a try and and I am so glad we did, it is a rustic place but very well kept. We sat out on the porch which was screened in and had a water fountain out on the lawn, very nice and relaxing. I ordered a rib eye steak and it was very good, the twiced baked potato was scrumptious. My husband had the seafood plate and they give you alot of food, the shrimp was beer battered and it was huge, the fish and scallops were also good. If you are ever in Waynesville you need to check this place out, and the price is very reasonable.....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cypress101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, FLorida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not our favorite...”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

No A/C was a B I G reason that this wasn't our favorite. The food was adequate... but less then expected. I wouldn't recommend... and doubt I'd be back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHappySews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't get the crabcakes”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've been here a few times, and had great oysters and fried fish. The service is great, and the wait staff is friendly and competent. The other day we went for dinner and my husband had lobster bisque, but couldn't find any lobster. His grilled sea scallops were the size of quarters and were over-cooked. I had crab cakes, Chesapeake style. They were cold and bland, and the consistancy of lumpy oatmeal. NO Old Bay spice. A real disappointment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marysmom0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg TN
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Bring your appetite!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Calamari appetizer was excellent! It was served with this really good sauce that I had never had anything like it. The greek salad was huge and I could only eat half. My boyfriend had the jambalaya special and he liked his very much as well. Service was attentive, house wine was good, and it was fun watching the ground hog outside who was eating carrots. I guess he is a regular visitor. Make sure you try to find this place....it is tucked away and hard to spot. Very cool authentic log cabin!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travels4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggie's Galley Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Maggie's Galley Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing