We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boyd Mountain Log Cabins
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but overpriced”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very nice experience but trees are way overpriced. Think double from other locations nearby. I recommend going elsewhere. The locals will tell you that boyds is for out of towners who don't know better.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank apex0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Loved the beautiful trees and the help was great. Major downfall was the wait to load the tree. We sat in line for 45 minutes waiting in line wasting gas. Can't believe how long this took. There has to be a better way!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BStockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you are looking for a place that is peaceful and quiet, yet, alot to keep everyone busy, This is the place. This was our first trip to Boyd Mountain, in mid August with our Daughter, son in law and their 7 & 3 Year old boys. We stayed in Meadow Fork and found the cabin to be every thing we wanted it to be. Plenty of room for all of us, and all the necessary appliances and houseware to make our stay comfortable. Other then shopping in nearby Waynesville, the Kids spent the first five days on the grounds with the boys, fishing, hiking, tubing and just having fun in the great outdoors. They all loved it and cannot wait for our next stay.

Room Tip: Upon arrival we found that the cabin had a couple of fishing poles, tackle and bait there for our us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have been to Boyd Mountain a number of times with our grandchildren and also with their parents. Everyone loves this place and we keep coming back. It has a lot to do or not to do as you chose, but the setting is wonderful . We have been all seasons.

Room Tip: All cabins are unique and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rphrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just stayed a night at Boyd Mountain Cabins. I emailed ahead for availability and to see if they would rent for one night on the weekends. Ms. Boyd was so hospitable. Inviting us to come early so that my boys could enjoy the three stocked ponds. Then she emailed back that we could choose between two cabins and that she would leave them open for us to pick which one best suit. Then she invited us to stay late. She made us feel part of the family without ever meeting.

When we drove up, it took my breathe away! The pictures do not do the farm justice. There was plenty of room for the boys to run, we caught brim and a catfish, we made a campfire and roasted marshmallows, and had plenty of room to stretch out and have space in the cabin. The beds were comfortable, the toilet paper was soft, and the cabin had everything we needed (dish soap, paper towels, laundry detergent, etc.). The setting was unbelievable! A story book setting for sure. It was really hard to leave. Can't wait to go back and spend more time at the Boyd's little piece of Heaven.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicoleCharleston_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We having been coming to Boyd mountain tree farm this will be 3 years. We come every December to cut down our tree , buy a new ornament and play in the snow! We were there last year and the owner of the cabins over heard us talking about trying to find a hotel room in town and she offered us a cabin that just happened to be empty. I was 37 weeks pregnant and I couldn't have been happier not to have to ride anymore. We ordered delivery pizza and my husband made a fire. Our cabin had a upstairs area which the kids were crazy about and you could see the hundreds of chrisas trees waiting for a bunch of presents around it. If you stay in these beautiful cabins please do yourself a favor and buy a Christmas tree from the amazing people. Out kids ask about going here all year. We will come here every year and make memories!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank favorg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have stayed at Boyd Mtn Cabins twice, once in Fall 2010, and again in Spring 2012, for a total of twelve nights. We couldn't ask for a better place to stay on the NC side of the Smokies. The property is actually closer to Maggie Valley than Waynesville. The cabins are well-spaced allowing for plenty of privacy, in a beautiful setting among the Christmas trees, gardens and ponds. Cabins are cozy, quiet, and well-furnished, even down to washer/dryer units in each cabin. Each authentic cabin has a history all its own. Hosts and manager have always been very accommodating. While we always spend most of the day exploring the Smokies and vicinity, there is also hiking and fishing on site.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buck999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
5.9 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
474 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Misty Creek Log Cabins
Misty Creek Log Cabins
#3 of 21 in Maggie Valley
28 reviews
4.1 mi away
Creekwood Village Resort
Creekwood Village Resort
#8 of 21 in Maggie Valley
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyd Mountain Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyd Mountain Log Cabins

Property: Boyd Mountain Log Cabins
Address: 445 Boyd Farm Rd, Waynesville, NC 28785-8305
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Waynesville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Boyd Mountain Log Cabins Hotel Waynesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing