We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spirit of days past!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boyd Mountain Log Cabins
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Spirit of days past!”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I spent a spectacular weekend with some friends at Boyd Mtn. Log Cabins. The website doesn't do it justice..the cabins are much cuter and cozier than you can imagine! When you turn onto the long winding drive you are stepping back in time when things were simpler and to be savored,,,not rushed. The backdrop of all the frazier firs dotting the gentle hills in rows like little tin soldiers marching up the rolling hillsides and the old silo in the foreground sets the tone for an enchanting stay.
The cabin we stayed in was Clinch Cabin and it is nestled among the firs and has the best unobstructed view of the fields of trees above and below the cabin and the site of the smoky mountains in the distance were facinating to watch from sun up to sundown as they changed from shades of dusky grey to smokey blue.We sat on the spacious front porch at dusk enjoying the sunset and were pleasantly surprised when a flock of honking geese in formation headed for the lake to bed down for the night...nice touch to start off a perfect evening sitting around the comforting warmth of a crackling bonfire chatting with our friends and listening to the crickets serenading us in the cool night air.
We reluctantly decided to go inside after we were all yawning and starting to nod off. Our cabin had four bedrooms and three baths. The master on main and one nice full bath with a built in stack washer and dryer and three bedrooms upstairs with one full size bathroom with tub/shower and the other bath had a shower only and was quite cozy but adequate. All were very clean and had plenty of towels, etc.
I can't speak for the other roomates but our room was great. We had two double beds and they were comfy, cozy and clean. Slept like a baby under crisp sheets, light blanket and coverlet under a soft quilt. After a restful night we were ready to greet the day! Even Dixie, the Jack Russell, came to say hello throughout the weekend!

Inside the cabin were two comfy leather sofas in the sitting area, a wood burning fireplace and a very nicely equipped kitchen with a rustic farm table and the cutest pie safe filled with games for our amusement. Although the living area was small it was adequate and in the full size kitchen we had a full size coffee pot and plenty of filters, sugar and a few basic cooking utensils. They had pots and pans, pyrex baking dishes large and small and the cutiest dishes with a country floral flair. Plenty of silverware and glasses, wine glasses and coffee mugs were available too. We didn't do much cooking but you did have plenty of pots and pans if needed.

I went exploring as I usually enjoy doing and walked around the other cabins our friends were staying in and found them to be as charming as ours with similar rustic charm....some had three bedrooms down to one bedroom to fit any size or need the whole complex would accomodate about 30 people or so and fit our group of 28 perfectly and kept the intimate feel through out. They had well maintained lawns, roads between cabins and a nice pond to enjoy. They had an area set up for outdoor games too. Every cabin had inviting porch rockers and deck out back with rustic table and chairs to dine or hang outside with nice charcoal Webber grills to use.

Our group had the run of the place and felt right at home from the minute we arrived, Location was perfect for traveling to Asheville, Maggie Valley and Waynesville for some shopping, dining, etc. and we found ourselves hurrying back to our cabins just to hang out, chill and relax by the crackling fire on Saturday night.
This location was the perfect escape and we will be returning again and again. It is perfect for a small family reunion, friend getaway or travelers wanting a bit of rest and relaxation. We did not get to meet the Boyd's but we want to thank them for sharing their little slice of heaven with us...if we lived there I don't think I would EVER want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JanGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was my second time to stay at Boyd Mountain and it certainly won't be the last. In fact, my husband and I are already talking about when we can go back. On this trip, we stayed in the Clinch Valley cabin with my whole family (8 of us). The cabin is cozy, but big enough to accommodate all of us. The cabins are in a good location to be able to take in some of the attractions in the area such as Biltmore, Great Smoky Mountain Railroad, Cataloochee Valley, and Cherokee. The days that we did not go anywhere were spent fishing and just relaxing at the cabin. My parents have stayed in a few of the smaller cabins when just the two of them have traveled up there and we have also stayed as a family in the MIllstone Cabin. They are all great. The atmosphere at Boyd Mountain is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annann1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The Boyd's grow the most beautiful and healthy Fraser Fir Christmas trees. They do a great job of shaping the trees and I've found a fresh cut tree last much longer. Enjoyed the hot apple cider while shopping for a wreath and garland under the big tent set up on the property. This is an exciting time at Boyd's but we've seen every season has something to offer. Betsy grows the most beautiful flowers and a fresh arrangement is always waiting for you in the cabin when you arrive. The authentic log cabins are always comfortable, spotless, and so beautifully decorated with care. Every cabin we have stayed in has a feeling of privacy and peace. It's quiet, tranquil, relaxing but close to Maggie Valley and downtown Waynesville for shopping. We enjoy hiking the mountain trail, fishing in the pond, and mostly the beauty of nature at Boyd Mountain Log Cabins. Everyone is always so welcoming and I appreciate their hospitality. Whether we go as a couple or with our family, every stay at Boyd's has been a memory to cherish. It is our absolute favorite mountain "home away from" place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaniceHendrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stayed in the Cosby Cabin a couple of weeks ago for a "Girl's Getaway" with some friends. Loved the fireplace and the kitchen and the bedrooms. . . . All of it! The cabin and grounds were everything we had hoped! The front porch is so welcoming and I would LOVE to come back in the summer too!

February is off-season and we were there during weekdays, so it was really quiet and serene. The property is just stunning and it really felt magical. I only wish we were able to meet the owners! Maybe next time, because I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avlmrsmcclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Imagine yourself in a Log Cabin, in front of a warm fire surrounded by family. Outside, everywhere you look, Christmas Trees, and Beautiful White Snow. This is how we spent Christmas 2010! It was the most magical and perfect Christmas! Even the 14 year old smiled for 6 straight days!
Thank you Lynn and everyone at Boyd Mountain!
This was truly the best Christmas EVER!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrandiInTheKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My husband and I had the pleasure of once again enjoying Boyd Mountain Log Cabins this month. We have been going to Boyd Mountain for 7 years and have enjoyed every single visit. The cabins are authentic log cabins with modern conveniences. We are absolutely in love with it, it is like a piece of heaven on earth. We have enjoyed every minute of our stay, from the cabin, to fishing in the 3 beautiful trout ponds, having a campfire and having our daily visit from their Jack Russell terriers, Frazier and Dixie. We plan on going back as much as possible for as long as Dan and Betsy Boyd will have us. Thank you Dan and Betsy for such beautiful and memorable vacations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marspez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We just spent two weeks here and had the best time EVER! Being from the Los Angeles area, we never let our kids out of our sight when they play. The area here was so secluded we actually allowed our kids to roam from cabin to cabin to find their friends!
Every cabin has it's own fire pit for S'mores (which we ate as much as possible!). The grounds were so beautiful, surrounded by Christmas trees in every stage of growth. We played with the volleyball net, which we also used for badminton. We had lots of space to play tag and hide and seek and a creek to swim in when the weather became too hot. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The kitchens in the cabins were well stocked too, which is a nice feature. How many times on vacation have you had to cut pizza with a knife because their wasn't a pizza cutter? We didn't at Boyd!
I can't recommend this place enough, we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
5.9 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
Best Western Mountainbrook Inn
#3 of 25 in Maggie Valley
474 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
143 reviews
4.3 mi away
Misty Creek Log Cabins
Misty Creek Log Cabins
#3 of 21 in Maggie Valley
28 reviews
4.1 mi away
Creekwood Village Resort
Creekwood Village Resort
#7 of 21 in Maggie Valley
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boyd Mountain Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyd Mountain Log Cabins

Property: Boyd Mountain Log Cabins
Address: 445 Boyd Farm Rd, Waynesville, NC 28785-8305
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Waynesville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Boyd Mountain Log Cabins Hotel Waynesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing