We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, friendly staff, great atmosphere”
Review of Chef's Table

Chef's Table
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very good food, friendly staff, great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our golf group eats here every time we come to Waynesville. We always sit at the big table in the back. Service has been good and the food is good. The menu has a decent variety and they are trying to be fully farm to table. The grilled salad, the tuna, the lamb and the deconstructed lasagna are excellent.

One thing I would say is verify your reservations. I had made reservations for 12 several weeks before we arrived and when I called back a couple of days before the trip they briefly had trouble finding the reservations. I had talked to the same person each time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dwprairiefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    91
    28
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

There were so many mouth watering choices I could have made at the Chef's Table in Waynesville, but settled on Salmon with aspharagus and creamy grits. I was almost hesitant to order because I often find that the sauce restaurants use is too overpowering, but this sauce complimented the salmon. Others in our group of eight had local trout, duck, filet mignon and the dinner special and no one complained. My one complaint: not enough room for dessert! Price point is worthy of the food. If you visit Waynesville make this one of your restaurant choices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sadams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Big Food Small town”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The food at chef's table is excellent. Hard to believe that you would find such a nice menu in this small town. I had the Lamb Shank which fell off the bone and my wife had the crispy duck. Both entre"s were fabulous. We shares a grilled romaine salad which could feed a third world country. Other dishes that our friends had were Chicken Kiev.Lobster. and shrimp pasta and everyone enjoyed them. I really like the wine selection especially the number of half bottles. The bread is great but go easy as the main dishes are very ample.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Farm to table gem in Waynesville NC”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

On the recommendation of Greg Carter of Deep Woods Mushrooms we made a reservation at Chef's Table...and so glad we did. Great totally unassuming restaurant, we have walked past it many times on our way to Frog's Leap. Once inside we noticed the extraordinary wine list and the creative and innovative menu items. The service was perfect, our waitress was helpful and professional and you could tell she took pride in working there We thoroughly enjoyed the grilled romain salad, risotto balls with goat cheese as appetizers. On to the mains, so many great items...we had the fish special, tile fish and the duck...both tasty well prepared and presented. While eating I watched one of the chefs roll out fresh portions of pasta for each order...definitely trying the deconstructed lasagna next time. Desert didn't disappoint either...flour less chocolate cake...and they whipped up some cream to top it off with. So good to know there are great options in a lovely locale...we will be back soon

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre4710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hmm, a tasty, mixed experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Overall, a very delicious meal, but mixed experience, for us at Chef's Table. The page of pastas and tasty sauces caught our eyes, but after we ordered, we were told the pasta machine was broken. Okay, stuff happens. Next choice was the trout entree. Again, after ordering, we were told they were out of trout. This was a little more troubling, since we were there early and the menu proudly touted it was from a farm only fifteen minutes away. We couldn't help but think they just didn't bother to get their delivery from the farm that day...Finally, the wine list sure seemed limited and over-priced to us.

So, that all said, once we did get our dinner (a veggie-laden sauce from one of the pasta dishes put on corn risotto) it was fantastic. Perhaps not "complex" or "innovative," but really darn delicious! Our salads were also very good, as well.

At the end of the night, we left full and happy, but it just seemed a bit a strange journey to get there from what is billed as the "best place in town."

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GatorJag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef's Table also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chef's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing