We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Restaurant with an Excellent View”

Pisgah Inn Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: .
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Very Good Restaurant with an Excellent View”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had breakfast and dinner for Sunday night through Thursday breakfast while we stayed at the Pisgah Inn. The complementary breakfast is adequate, with some variety. Scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, toast, oatmeal, cereal, pancakes. You may also order from the expanded breakfast menu, paying the regular price I believe. Dinner had a wide variety of choices that are very good, along with specials depending on the season. If you want to be seated at the window, you need to come early or be prepared to wait. On very busy nights/weekends you may have long wait for a table. Early to mid-week around the 1st of August we had no problems with seating. The service is very good to excellent depending on the server. All were above average and very nice. A gift shop adjoins the restaurant along with a viewing deck that looks across the valley.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bkrhkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    212
    69
    26
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and good food”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant. We did not get a window seat but still had a very nice view. Food was very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank slm60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“5 Star Total Package”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our family has had lunch at the Pisgah Inn Restaurant several times when visiting the area, and we have never been disappointed. From Asheville, it's an easy 30-40 minute drive south on the Parkway with a plethora of great views with pullovers and overlooks. If you want to drive further past the restaurant, there are even more spectacular views. First impressions are the views from the porch, and then floor-to-ceiling windows inside.

This August our server was Crystal. She was great, handling all our orders correctly but without being too frequent. The lunch menu is surprisingly varied and has something for all tastes. We tried the Monte Cristo sandwich, wall nut crusted rainbow trout, hamburger / fries (the old reliable), cheesecake and French silk pie (enough for two)......all good. We've also had the fried dill pickles and one of their specialties.....crab cakes. Again good. I'd like to try the North Carolina pork chop and fish & chips next visit. Considering scenery, food, service.....it's a 5 star.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AK06MISSISSIPPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
1,067 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,147 helpful votes
“The Best Location for Lunch (or Dinner) Imaginable”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

A local suggested this as a good destination for lunch. Great call.

It is less than an hour drive from Waynesville, and the views are breathtaking to the Inn, and during your meal. We stopped several times to enjoy the views on the way so having lunch at The Pisgah Inn took us about 4 hours total including travel.

Food was above average, service was solid, and the restaurant has a wide ranging view of the Park. Lovely. The wait at 2:00 in the afternoon for lunch was about 20 minutes. Prices were as expected for an above average restaurant experience. Total was $55-60 for two with tip.

If this review is helpful then please indicate so below.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Everyone is treated like family and the food is so so delicious. People wait for an hour like no big deal as it certainly is worth the wait !!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pisgah Inn Restaurant also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Pisgah Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing