We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lenoir City, TN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

As our first bed and breakfast, we feel that we did very good. The hosts are very nice. Built in 1910, this place oozes architectural charm. Our room was octagonal shaped and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was truly something to write home about. Also, the freshly baked cookies and other niceties were abundant. Huge wrap around porch to sit and the grounds are manicured nicely. Other guests we met told us that this B&B ranks among the best they have been to. Quite simply, we will return to Windover.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbknott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
113
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and found this delightful B&B on line. We took a long road trip and stayed in B&Bs along the way and this was the best!! The home is beautiful and lots of attention to detail! The inn keepers were charming and we felt pampered! They had even put together information about area attractions with easy directions. Our room was very cozy and the bed comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing! We look forward to returning and will hopefully be able to bring other family members so that they can have this wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingnurse2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

I love this bed and breakfast. It was amazing. We were personally welcomed by the hosts and there were jars of homemade cookies and crackers and menus of nearby restaurants waiting by the door. Our room was the White Mountain Suite, which had a jacuzzi (including candles and matches), separate shower, and a wonderful king sized bed. The cocoa/coffee/tea/water stations on every floor was a wonderful touch. The breakfast was fantastic and we enjoyed our breakfast companions (regulars at this particular B&B, an indication of its quality).

The only negative is the location is a little out of the way from the Blue Ridge Parkway, so any Parkway travelers should be prepared for an additional drive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenGVAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

Like many others have said, the inn is beautiful inside and out. Glenn and Jen take genuine interest in making their guests' visits pleasant and memorable. Waynesville is a great, quaint small town that is convenient to several interesting western-NC sites, not just Asheville. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_2jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Wonderful B&B very near downtown Waynesville tucked away in a neighborhood. Fantastic rooms and great service. Would definitely stay here again. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipeachy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is one of our favorite bed and breakfasts of the many we've stayed in over the years. The Windover is a lovely home, tastefully decorated. The rooms are roomy and comfortable, and the breakfasts are truly gourmet. For a relaxing weekend in the mountains of North Carolina, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast is a gorgeous and immaculately clean home that is exceedingly well maintained — both inside and out. We stayed in the Atlantic and found it comfortable, roomy, and peaceful. We especially loved the exposed brick in our bathroom, and the adjustable showerhead (with great water pressure!) was a godsend for both my tall husband and petite me.

The innkeepers, Glenn and Jen, were great and really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. For example, I'm a vegetarian, and they made a tofu scramble for me one breakfast, and imitation bacon (which I love) the next day — and they still made the real stuff for my husband. The chocolate chip scones were unbelievable and made a scone lover out of me.

The grounds are small but beautiful. There's a fire pit, gazebo with swing, hammock, and a large wrap-around porch with ample seating to unwind after a day of hiking or to drink coffee or tea before breakfast.

Most conveniently, there's a coffee/tea/cocoa station on each floor, so we were able to enjoy warm beverages at any time. There's also a mini-fridge, which we were able to use to keep our drinks cold, and a microwave with complimentary popcorn.

The Windover Inn is located just a short drive from the quaint small-town shops and restaurants of Main Street. The innkeepers were happy to provide local menus, maps with directions, and information to help us plan activities. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowpunzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
3.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
0.9 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#1 of 19 in Waynesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 40 Old Hickory St, Waynesville, NC 28786-6088
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual and elegant historic Victorian meticulously renovated in 2004 with all the amenities to provide a relaxing and romantic get away. The Windover Inn, a local historic landmark, is nestled into a secluded acre of lush gardens just a mile from downtown, historic Waynesville. Each room includes private baths, pillowtop mattresses, air conditioning, ceiling fans, CD alarm clocks, iron and ironing board and cable TV. Five rooms feature two person whirlpools, and five have king size beds. A full homecooked breakfast is included, and can be served to guests in their room in five of our eight guest rooms at no extra charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing