We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend at Windover”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Columbia, SC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend at Windover”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is one of our favorite bed and breakfasts of the many we've stayed in over the years. The Windover is a lovely home, tastefully decorated. The rooms are roomy and comfortable, and the breakfasts are truly gourmet. For a relaxing weekend in the mountains of North Carolina, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
120
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast is a gorgeous and immaculately clean home that is exceedingly well maintained — both inside and out. We stayed in the Atlantic and found it comfortable, roomy, and peaceful. We especially loved the exposed brick in our bathroom, and the adjustable showerhead (with great water pressure!) was a godsend for both my tall husband and petite me.

The innkeepers, Glenn and Jen, were great and really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. For example, I'm a vegetarian, and they made a tofu scramble for me one breakfast, and imitation bacon (which I love) the next day — and they still made the real stuff for my husband. The chocolate chip scones were unbelievable and made a scone lover out of me.

The grounds are small but beautiful. There's a fire pit, gazebo with swing, hammock, and a large wrap-around porch with ample seating to unwind after a day of hiking or to drink coffee or tea before breakfast.

Most conveniently, there's a coffee/tea/cocoa station on each floor, so we were able to enjoy warm beverages at any time. There's also a mini-fridge, which we were able to use to keep our drinks cold, and a microwave with complimentary popcorn.

The Windover Inn is located just a short drive from the quaint small-town shops and restaurants of Main Street. The innkeepers were happy to provide local menus, maps with directions, and information to help us plan activities. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowpunzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

The Windover is a historic inn that has been restored into a great B&B. Glenn and Jen offer friendly service with tasty and filling breakfasts each morning. The town of Waynesville has great dining options and is just 30 minutes from GSMNP.

We just returned from our third trip to the Windover and look forward to returning many more times.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moabhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2008

We stayed here for three nights in October, and were very pleased with the property and service. It's located in a nice residential area less than a mile from Waynesville's town center. The rooms are large, well furnished and a good vaiue given the amenities like jacuzzis. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful about hiking, golf, etc. opportunities. The gourmet breakfast was very good on all three mornings. A plus is that there is ample off-street parking. For a small town, Waynesville has 3-4 good restaurants (not great, but well above average for the size of the town). The food and service at the Old Stone Inn was the best that we tried, although the Chef's Table and Lomo Grill also had good food (but spotty service).

  • Liked — Nice rooms; friendly innkeepers; good breakfast
  • Disliked — Not within easy walking distance of town center
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

This was the 2nd time that we have stayed at the WIndover Inn. We loved it just as much as the first time we stayed. It is about 30 minutes from Asheville, but it is definitely worth the drive. We plan on going back in the spring.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
471 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

This was our second, but not last stay at the Windover Inn. This is a beautifully restored bed and breakfast. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable. The innkeepers are everything you hope for with a B&B. Very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. They can give good recommendations for restaurants and things to do in the area. The breakfast is great as well.

  • Liked — clean,comfortable, friendly
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2008

This is a great B&B - as a first time traveller to the US and having stayed in many B&B's in the UK, this was up there with the best of them. Great hosts, fantastic breakfasts, and beautiful surroundings - you couldn't ask for more. If I'm ever back in Waynesville, there's no question of staying anywhere else.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank David1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.5 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
3.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
0.9 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#3 of 19 in Waynesville
428 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
150 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 40 Old Hickory St, Waynesville, NC 28786-6088
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual and elegant historic Victorian meticulously renovated in 2004 with all the amenities to provide a relaxing and romantic get away. The Windover Inn, a local historic landmark, is nestled into a secluded acre of lush gardens just a mile from downtown, historic Waynesville. Each room includes private baths, pillowtop mattresses, air conditioning, ceiling fans, CD alarm clocks, iron and ironing board and cable TV. Five rooms feature two person whirlpools, and five have king size beds. A full homecooked breakfast is included, and can be served to guests in their room in five of our eight guest rooms at no extra charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing