We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay for me... Cash Only”
Review of Ammons Drive-In

Ammons Drive-In
Ranked #44 of 119 Restaurants in Waynesville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Western North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just okay for me... Cash Only”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Slow service. Waited and waited to have our order taken even though the other two customers in the restaurant weren't being served at the time. Waited another ten minutes on my order of an ice cream cup and a slice of pie. All they had to do was take it out of the serving case.

Reese's Peanut Butter Pie was delicious. Ice cream was a little pricey. Might stop back by for dessert if nearby, but wouldn't make a special trip to eat here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WideRuled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    16
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stopped there for lunch to try the "famous hot dogs". Was not really impressed. The server brought the drink order and it was wrong. They didn't get the food order right either since the hot dogs were supposed to have onions, but didn't. Probably will not go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Very decent country-style food. A great place to grab a bite with family or friends.

Make sure you're not in a super big hurry when you stop in.

Helpful?
1 Thank C_Faris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“OK for a quick bite to eat.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The owner of our motel recommended Ammons for a quick bite to eat. You can choose to be served in you car curbside, or sit inside the restaurant. We choose a booth inside. The food is served on paper plates with plastic utensils. We tried a hamburger, fries and their famous hot dogs. I also chose to add one trip to the salad bar. The peach cobbler with ice cream was a tasty dessert choice. Service was good and the food was OK for something quick. Doubt that we would try again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IWork2TravelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“BRING CASH”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Leave any modern form of payment at home because this place only takes cash, and they proudly display that fact on the door in bold letters. The food is traditional drive-in fare, with a soup and meager salad bar (five items, oh boy!) Service is almost too fast, since it gives the staff no time for polite service technique; on each pf our visits service consisted of "you know wacha want?" before we could even look the menu over. A no frills place to eat on the run.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ammons Drive-In also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ammons Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing