We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place....great value. A must try!”

Smoky Mountain Sub Shop
Ranked #8 of 117 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $11
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Smoky Mountain Sub Shop has been serving the Waynesville area for over 20 years. Come in and enjoy our great subs and relaxed casual atmosphere.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place....great value. A must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our group of six at lunch here. We have been several times before, but the original owner as done wonders with the place! The decor is inviting and cozy. The loaded club sandwich was incredible. The egg salad tasted very fresh. The bread on all the sandwiches was also fresh. Our son said he had the best corn dog ever, and ordered a second one. The service was incredibly efficient, and the people were a pleasure to talk to. Five adults and a child ate for $42. Great value. We will be visiting again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen00TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    32
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
283 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Affordable & Delicious in SHI SHI section of downtown tourist section”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Turn one half block off Main St down the hill, get lucky with a sideways parking spot and NO METER, see two restaurants side by side and either choose the pricey one or this one. We chose this one with cute country decor, friendly counter service but tables for seating so no tipping required, and fresh ingredients. The ham and cheese 12 inch sub was yummy, full of meat, soft roll (not NJ italian but still good) and the full local vibe of this wonderful town. I recommend you get off main street where you find treasures like a habitat for humanity thrift store across the street just around the corner from high end main street retail. A nice option if you came to explore and do not want to linger over lunch with wine and complex choices. A good family option. The 12 inch sub can feed 3 people and definitely three kids. Nice vegetarian options and specials as well. We were there for a meeting so we did not want to linger over lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCRAPPYJupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

A group of us in an office ordered take out subs today. The subs were good and the service was quick and the price was right. The size of the subs was impressive and the cost very reasonable. Several of us had a steak and cheese. Everyone liked it. Although it was good, I have to say I have had better locally. The meat had lots of grisle, was a little dry, and way too much pepper. I barely tasted any cheese. Someone else in the group had the meatball sub and was pleased with it. One person had an Italian sub with lots of vegis and it was huge. It looked delicious. We will definitely try the Smoky Mountain Sub Shop again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deebs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sandwiches done right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Some of the best sandwiches I've had. This place offers a huge menu of sandwiches. Prices range from $3.49 for a 12 inch to just over 9 dollars for their most expensive. I had the steak which was excellent and my wife had the BLT. Restaurant was very clean and staff was friendly.. When back in Waynesville I will come here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Basic Fare Well Done”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

There are a lot of things this small restaurant does right. It's basic fare - including: hot and cold subs and sandwiches, some vegetarian sandwich offers, salads, soup, and breakfast sandwiches and omelets served all day. You order and pay at the counter and they bring the food to your table. It's just around the corner from the Mast General Store as you walk down to the Public Parking lot at the bottom of the hill. Service was very friendly. We had a meatball sub and a 0.99 cents priced hot dog. The sweet tea was very good. The meatball sub was pretty good. The hot dog was OK. There are enough familiar items on the menu that I would say it is definitely "kid friendly". Overall, my rating is based on the food we ordered in the one meal. I think if we came regularly, we would be more impressed with the overall menu and the consistency of the food - fairly quickly raising the rating of the restaurant a potential "Very Good" instead of "Average". There are about ten inside tables and it feels crowded in a friendly way. The restaurant obviously fills a niche for good, basic fare at a reasonable price. I suggest giving this restaurant a try if you're looking for good value and variety at a fair price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoky Mountain Sub Shop also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Smoky Mountain Sub Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing