We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kobe Express

Kobe Express
Ranked #23 of 117 Restaurants in Waynesville
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Good Bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

My first visit to Kobe Express for lunch. We were seated quickly and we were able to place our order soon after being seated. Which was nice since we were on our lunch break and were under a time limitation. The waitress was very friendly. The food was nice an hot (heat not spice) when it arrived at the table and was very filling. It was a nice change for lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunTravelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellant place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Personally I lobe Kobe restraunt. The food (Teriyaki Chicken is my usual plate) is excellent, the service is very good, and the atmosphere is very okay (may need a little work). I go to Kobe on a daily basis and always enjoy it, also it is very very very inexpensive. Would you rather have a kids meal at Zaxbys or a full plate of Japanesse food at Kobe? Please keep doing what your doing and I will keep coming back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Austinsc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Tasty Bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was our first visit to Kobe Express with a group of seven people at lunch time on a Sunday. There was no difficulty finding seating for the group. The accent is surely on Japanese-style food, with lots of offerings of sushi, but many other more traditional dishes. Some of us ordered shrimp or scallop dishes; others teriyaki style steak with broccoli or mushrooms. I was amazed at how much good food was served for so little a price. Mine was teriyaki style beef with broccoli and fried rice. The amazing price for this, I believe, was seven dollars! No, it is not high class gourmet food, but definitely a tasty bargain.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyd2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Kobe has fast service, adequate seating, and good service. This is one of the few places I can get good sushi and my husband (not a sushi fan) has plenty to choose from. Kobe is smart in keeping their menu pretty straight forward- mostly hibachi or teryaki steak, chicken, or shrimp. Their sushi selection is pretty remarkable though. The only complaint we have ever had has been the timing of our food- eat with a group and your sushi eaters are likely to wait much longer for their food than the hibachi folks. This hasn't always happened to our group- but it's something to be aware of if you head there with a group of people and you're starving.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Courtney D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a new restaurant in Waynesville NC, and my daughter said they really liked it. They have sushi and many other items. I ordered the shrimp teriaki plate and it was wonderful. The shrimp were cooked in a very flavorful sauce, and served with fried rice, broccoli and some outstanding carrots. Cost $7.00 I would go back here every week if I still loved in the area. They are doing a great job, and people were lined up out the door to get in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kobe Express also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Kobe Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing