We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and staff!”
Review of City Bakery - CLOSED

City Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: City Bakery serves some of the best sandwiches, salads, and soups in town. Artisan Breads, scratch-made pastries, cakes and desserts as well as great breakfast selections are available 7 days a week.
New Orleans, LA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and staff!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Wine Sellar but they weren't serving foot yet. They sent us to the City Bakery. We got a turkey and cheese panini and quiche. They were very good. But the dessert was TO DIE FOR! I forget the name but it was an inside our chocolate cake. Sooo yummy!! We took out food back to the Wine Sellar and had wine with our food. Perfect.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LFox14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    68
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Tiffany's?? Well, almost!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Waynesville, North Carolina--where's that? For fear that this quintessential and picturesque little mountain town in Western North Carolina just a stone's throw from Asheville (that's all you get!), once discovered, will soon be over-run with tourists--you'll just have to take my clue and find it for yourself! While you're in town,however, City Bakery is a MUST STOP for either breakfast or lunch. Located right in the thick of things on Main Street, this relatively recent addition to the restaurant scene is the creation of Megan and Jeff Smith, local residents, who wanted to bring some of the success of the Asheville bakery to sleepy little Waynesville. With charming brick walls, high pressed tin ceilings, and old oak floors, you're sure to enjoy the Main Street ambiance as you enjoy your cappucino, home-made cinnamon roll, and not-to-be-missed breakfast cheddar and scallion biscuit with egg, cheese and bacon! A little late for breakfast? No problem--there is a nice selection of fresh home-made soups,delightful sandwiches, salads, and of course...DESSERTS! Made in house, these sweet treats are sure to please, whether cake, pies, cookies, turnovers or the like. Our personal favorite is the coconut cream puff--delicioso!!! If the mountain weather is beautiful (as is most often the case) stroll out to the back patio to enjoy your meal with some fresh mountain air! Just remember...you're in Waynesville, where life is sweet and the folks are right friendly! Jeff, Megan and crew will make you feel like welcome guests, and the food will keep you coming back for more!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AvecBrisance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best apple turnover....ever”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Baked goods were fresh and flavorful!! It was the best apple turnover I've ever had (and yes, I've had a few!)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank suefromcharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This a great spot for lunch while shopping in Waynesville. The TAB (Turkey, Avocado & Bacon) is wonderful! My husband said the Rueben was one of the best he's ever had. The location is great, convenient to the shopping area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgrlFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Homemade Eats”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch and were not disappointed. Wonderful soup, sandwiches, salads and coffee drinks.

Located in downtown Waynesville in a wonderfully rehabbed building, you order at the counter, get your drinks and number then grab a table and your lunch is brought to you by one of their friendly, knowledgeable servers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank not2woryluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Bakery also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing