We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Waynesville
Post
Inbox
Search

“didn't eat here but did visit”

The Classic Wineseller
Ranked #27 of 140 Restaurants in Waynesville
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Classic Wineseller is a retail wine and craft beer shop that is open Tuesday through Saturday. The restaurant is open Wednesday through Saturday evenings. Enjoy LIVE music on Friday and Saturday evenings. Our location is underground and stays cool year around. A light jacket or sweater is suggested.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

Their wineseller is just wonderful ... next time we will go for dinner ... just not enough meals in a visit!!!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank M23rdPWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 127 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2018 via mobile

Wanted to hear James Hammel. Booked a reservation early in the week, and gave my phone number. Drove out from Asheville on Friday night and found they were closed. Had called during the drive to alert them that we were running 10 minutes late, got answering recording, but no message that they had closed. Stuff happens, but lack of courtesy call to let us know they closed for the weekend is appalling.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank TCC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. I'm truly sorry you didn't receive a message that we were closed. The reason we ask for phone numbers is in case we need to notify of any schedule changes. On the date James was to play we have notes in the computer calendar next to each person's reservation that s/he was notified by phone that we would be closed. The notes also specify whether the person was spoken to about the sudden cancellation or if a voicemail message was left.

Something obviously went terribly wrong since you didn't receive a call/message. I apologize for the inconvenience. I know it's a long drive from Asheville and I know you must have been very annoyed and disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

The wine seller STORE is great, but the restaurant is average. We ordered a charcuterie that was very very ho hum. The live music was fun and the wine we chose was great. And the vibe is fun - being in a "cellar" surrounded by wine. But each of our dishes was average. We wanted to be wowed and to finally find a place in Waynesville that could hold a candle to Asheville, but no luck. We'll be back (as there is not much to chose from here) but be aware that it's good, not great.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Cate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2019

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience at the Classic Wineseller. I'm very sorry to hear we did not exceed your expectations.

You mentioned the charcuterie as disappointing and other dishes as average. The other dishes you refer to--would you mind telling us what those were? Did you happen to mention anything to your server? If you did, I apologize that the server didn't bring it to our attention so we had an opportunity to address it while you were visiting.

Please know your feedback is important. We have over 30 items on our menu. If an item is disappointing to a customer, we really do want to know specifics so we have an opportunity to improve. Thank you again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We always go here on the 233k3nds. Love the live entertainment. The location is a cellar and the walls are lined with wines....all available for purchase, dishes are small and unique. Cozy, reservations a must, not large. It is a great place to spend an evening that is different, but excellent.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Quest771587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

My husband and I stopped in to buy a couple of bottles of wine so we didn't get to sample the food but it looked crowded. They also planned to have live music that evening.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tanda367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Classic Wineseller also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Classic Wineseller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing