We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret”

The Classic Wineseller
Ranked #24 of 128 Restaurants in Waynesville
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Classic Wineseller is a retail wine and craft beer shop that is open Tuesday through Saturday. The restaurant is open Wednesday through Saturday evenings. Enjoy LIVE music on Friday and Saturday evenings. Our location is underground and stays cool year around. A light jacket or sweater is suggested.
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to the wine cellar. Very small adult friendly restaurant in a basement. The service is decent, the food is good, and the entertainment is classy.

Thank MELINDA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm happy to hear you're a repeat customer and have enjoyed your visits. Come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 125 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2016

10/22, 10/29, + 11/19 & 11/25 already reserved. Whether its: pianist / singer Joe Cruz playing the music of the Beatles, Elton John, James Taylor, Simon & Garfunkel, Sting; Jazz vocalist Wendy Jones paying tribute to Duke Ellington; Mean Mary’s lightning fast banjo & fiddle; or a whole line-up of talented local, regional & national musicians regularly appearing in this cozy wall-to-wall & floor-to-ceiling underground Wine cellar (“over 1,100 selections among more than 12,000 bottles”), down-to-earth & friendly proprietors Kay & Richard Miller admirably pack this congenial place for the good eats as well. Boasting an intimate atmosphere, a thoughtfully uncomplicated menu, a 4000-cigar shop, great hard-to-find / older vintage retail wines, beers & bubblies, and a relaxed service, regulars abound, be it for a special occasion, a private event, a Wine Tasting & Food Pairing, but most of all for the LIVE Music every Friday & Saturday. All this with a “European styling & old world charm” menu featuring mouth watering charcuterie, cured meats, local and imported cheeses, olives, and in-house prepared appetizers, salads, soups, flatbreads, and small plates courtesy of chef Josh Adams. What you get is a most entertaining formula that has been functioning successfully for the last 19 years!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TripIt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Thank you so much for such a kind and detailed review about what you like about our establishment--now in its 20th year. We hope you'll come back to see us again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016

We went to The Wineseller because the other restaurants nearby were booked. I wish we'd have just gone back to the hotel and ordered a pizza. The service was terrible! After being seated, we waited for a server for 10 minutes, even though there were only 5 other tables at the time. She finally did come take our order. The beer and wine that we had were both very good, but the food was atrocious. I ordered Chicken Marsala, and although the dish was completely drowned in sauce, the chicken was still so dry that it was hard to get down. My husband ordered Steak Au Poivre. The flavor was ok, but there were maybe 5 bits of steak and about 7 gnocchi drowned in sauce. The spinach dip appetizer was delicious, but there was a huge bowl of dip and only 8 pieces of flat bread. We would have paid the $4 (what?!) for extra flatbread, but the waitress was too busy goofing off with a loud group of regulars to come back to check on us. We had to actually wave her over to ask for our check. What a waste of $65. We left and ordered a pizza.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your visit to the Classic Wineseller. I'm very sorry that you are so unhappy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2016

These folks know how to provide a meal and entertainment that would be received most favorably in any large city.
The Asian salad was wonderful and the mushroom soup was among the best. Our party of four thoroughly enjoyed small plates of the grilled baguette, sausage flat bread, Italian scampi, chicken caprino, fantini farnese, and all four deserts on the menu.
There is a wonderful wine list. On the first bottle of wine the cork was not available but thereafter it was. I thought it inappropriate to charge a corkage fee.
And finally, there were two singers who harmonized to everyone's delight.
Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MartinR835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Thanks so much for your kind review of the Classic Wineseller. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your food, wine, and music. We do ocassionally have guests who disagree with the service charge/corkage fee. We instruct our servers to point out the fee on the menu and to also mention it when telling guests they are welcome to select wine from the retail shelves rather than wines listed on the menu. Our retail price plus the $7 fee is still considerably less than one would pay for wine at other restaurants. I hope this explanation is helpful.

Thank you again for taking time to provide feedback to us, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Enjoyed the music and wine tasting. Nice low key place to chill and relax with girlfriends or your significant other..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We love hearing how guests can relax and enjoy themselves with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Classic Wineseller also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Classic Wineseller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing