We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wine shop/tasting room I have seen”

The Classic Wineseller
Ranked #27 of 121 Restaurants in Waynesville
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Classic Wineseller is a retail wine and craft beer shop that is open Tuesday through Saturday. The restaurant is open Wednesday through Saturday evenings. Enjoy LIVE music on Friday and Saturday evenings. Our location is underground and stays cool year around. A light jacket or sweater is suggested.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This wine store/restaurant is in the cellar of a brick building. You will be astounded when you walk down the stairs. I have never seen a more beautiful wine store. There is also an amazing looking tasting room-restaurant area they use on weekends when they have live music. We did not eat here but did buy wine. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly. Visit this shop in the very charming town of Waynesville.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank wesobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

What kind comments--thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We hope you have an opportunity to visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I can find wines here that I am unable to fine in Charlotte. Always fun to visit. The owner is very knowledgeable and I have never been steered wrong.

Thank MCMS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We're happy to hear you are pleased with our recommendations. Much of the challenge--and fun--is finding just the right wine for each person who visits the shop. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came by Classic Wine Seller exploring Waynesville, and discovered they would have music and food on a Saturday evening. We came back because the wine selection is exceptional with some wines that are a challenge to find, and at decent prices. While listening to the evening's music, we had a bottle of great wine and a very flavorful bruschetta on a flat bread rather than sliced and toasted bread. The service was slow, and kept passing us by until the owner's wife came by and realized we were not being fully served. She very much made up for the service difficulty and later we had a very enjoyable conversation with her. If you like wine and are in western North Carolina, this wine cellar shop is a must.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UpstateExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

We sure do appreciate your comments--and we are very glad to know that we were able to make sure your experience was a good one. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Classic Wine Seller has a very good selection of wines for this area. Owner is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the wines he sells. In addition, they are likely to have live music at least one night a week - depending on the time of year. This is a well run local business - give it a try.

Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thanks so much for taking time to post a comment. We hope you'll visit again soon! We've now have live music every Friday and Saturday night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This weekend we had the pleasure of having dinner at the Classic Wine Seller in Waynesville in Western North Carolina. The unique and intimate setting in Richard's retail wine store contributed greatly to a most enjoyable dinner together with the music of a terrific jazz trio. These dinners are conducted occasionally so be sure to check the website. There is a HUGE selection of wine and beer from which to choose in every price range. If you are near Waynesville and love wine or beer, a visit to his store is well worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RosesSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClassicWineseller, Owner at The Classic Wineseller, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We're celebrating out 16th year in business and have enjoyed every minute of it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Classic Wineseller also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Classic Wineseller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing