We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Not Have Been Any Better!”
Review of Anthony Wayne's Restaurant - CLOSED

Anthony Wayne's Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: At Anthony Wayne’s there’s something for the whole family. Come and be transported to a place where the traditions of the past and the innovations of the future blend to give you a memorable dining experience like no other in Western North Carolina.
Southaven, Mississippi, United States
1 review
“Could Not Have Been Any Better!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Visiting town for a few days, 5 of us (ages 30-56, from mixed backgrounds and with mixed tastes) popped in to Anthony Wayne's at 5:30 pm Thursday evening. We had no reservations, but the charming hostess standing on the front steps of the gorgeous building assured us that was no problem. We were seated immediately, greeted by a spirited waitress (Laura) quickly, and had prompt but not overbearing service throughout the meal. The decor of the early 1900s former Masonic Lodge was impeccable. The lighting and ambiance was appropriate for our conversation but could just as easily be suitable for a romantic evening for 2. On Thursday nights, the restaurant offers a 3 glass wine tasting for $10, during which the somellier comes to the table and discusses a white and two reds he has chosen. They are poured each after the one before is finished, there was never a rushed feeling. The full service bar also accommodated one in our table for a cocktail and another for a domestic beer. The food was incredible. We had the chef's appetizer of the day (a giant ravioli filled with a sweet acorn squash compote), a main course, and fabulous desserts handcrafted by the pastry chef. This American cuisine was tasty and presented beautifully enough that we ALL thought this could easily be a 5 star restaurant. Entrees varied from the "stacks" on gritcakes, this restaurant's version of a chicken cordon bleu, crabcakes, and a fresh catch of the day (Sheep's Head caught that morning in a NC stream). Thoughtfully and creatively prepared, the food was gone from each plate before the head chef and owner came out to the restaurant to visit with each table. He was very modest, bragging on his staff, thankful for his opportunity and blessing to be cooking and serving in this environment. We had homemade gelato and creme brulee for desserts before paying our checks. We would have never guessed this fare in this environment could be this reasonably priced at about $35 per person! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Each one of our party has traveled in various parts of the country and the world, and can, as a group be difficult to please all in one place. Anthony Wayne's is a 5 star restaurant in our eyes, and you would be doing yourself a disservice to not stop in and check it out! Happy Eating!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa P, Manager at Anthony Wayne's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are thrilled you and your guest had such a wonderful time. Hope you can come back soon! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    4
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had no reservations when we walked into this restaurant for the first time. The staff was welcoming and pleasant, we were seated right away. The fried green tomato appetizer was delicious. My zuchinni "stack" was great. Holly was our server , and very attentive. Overall great experience , we will go back

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa P, Manager at Anthony Wayne's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to review our Restaurant! We hope you see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect evening”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a lovely evening at Anthony Waynes and will definiely return. the food was outstanding and the service was some of the best we have had in the area. As a vegetarian sometimes it is difficult to find something interesting. The Portabella Stack was fabulous. Our server was charming and very efficient. A very professional staff!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa P, Manager at Anthony Wayne's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your perfect evening. We appreciate your business and we hope you will help us spread the word about the best kept secret in Waynesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Crab cake heaven”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful food great people try the hummingbird cake to die for. House wines are worth a try. The bar takes u back to a scene from the 1920s. Hospitality is the key to this gems success

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rusty1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa P, Manager at Anthony Wayne's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience and your appreciation for our Crab Cakes! We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely evening!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a wonderful evening! There were eight at our table. We were all very impressed. Starting with the atmosphere to the wait staff (Laura was our waitress), to the menu, to the quality of the food...it was a perfect evening! The prices are extremely reasonable. We all loved the "small plates". I do not understand why Anthony Wayne's is not the No. 1 restaurant in Waynesville, NC!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa P, Manager at Anthony Wayne's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Anthony Wayne's! Your voice matters and we are so happy you had a lovely evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony Wayne's Restaurant also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing