We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pisgah Inn”
Review of Pisgah Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pisgah Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Pisgah Inn is a simple yet clean motel with a great view. You can't beat the view along with the free hot breakfast. It was a great deal. If you want to get away in the mts away from everything yet have access to a great restaurant, come here.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view. If anything ask to be on top floor, second floor, so you don't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember06172016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 635 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

I don't need to say much about the great views, you can read that from the other reviews. In the space of two hours we saw a very dark gray overcast, sprinkling rain, clouds even darker gray, a drop in temperature, then very dense fog, then clearing in time for a beautiful sunset. You can't get that in very many places with a view like that. The owner of the property served our coffee the next morning in the restaurant. The restaurant deserves our heartfelt praise. They could get by with third rate food and high prices, but the food is excellent and the prices very reasonable. You can order top line entrees for $ 30.00 or so, but they also have meat loaf and chicken pot pie for much less. Wine is expensive, but you can drink ice tea. The room we stayed in was splendid, but had a connecting door to the room next door. Even with the door closed and locked, we could hear every word of our neighbors' conversation, and they were not speaking loudly. You need to hope that you don't have a dog next door.

Room Tip: It is best to avoid a room with a door that connects to the next door room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guest080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was the fourth time my wife and I stayed at The Pisgah Inn and we were pleasantly surprised. The last time was a couple years ago and the place was getting worn out and was not even that clean. It has been totally renovated since then and is greatly improved. They kept the same sort of semi-rustic mountain cottage style, and repainted everything, brought in new furniture, new bathroom fixtures, new curtains, and even completely new windows. The view from the restaurant has always been and still is unbeatable. The food is better now but still reasonable prices. If you want to stay, go soon because the rooms and the restaurant are booked solid during the Fall leaf season.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on the second floor. It looks like several of the ground floor rooms would not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had spent our honeymoon at Pisgah Inn 28 years ago and this was our first time back. Not much had changed and that is a good thing. Beautiful views, a nice room and a wonderful restaurant welcomed us back. There is no air conditioning in the room, but at 4,500 feet elevation and in early September, it was not needed. Good air flow is provided by a small front window. Many of the travelers were middle aged couples like us. Many drove up from Asheville to eat at the restaurant, which had spectacular views and great food. The Inn is rather isolated, with Brevard and Asheville a healthy drive in either direction. There is a small grocery store on site, but the fare is limited. All things to consider, but not an issue for us. We hope to make this an annual pilgrimage.

Room Tip: Our room was a top floor king in the Treetops section. It is the furthest from the office and resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englewoodlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my second visit to the Inn and always enjoy my stay. Room was comfortable, great view from the back balcony, excellent restaurant next door with free breakfast. Look forward to going back next time I'm on the Parkway or even nearby Gatlinburg.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Publico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This may be one of the more hidden gems in Western North Carolina. One of two motels on the entire Blue Ridge Parkway, so the drive to the Inn is just wonderful, multiple tunnnels, great vistas at every turn. We took our bicycles up and enjoyed the Parkway also. The Inn itself sits atop Mt Pisgah so its going to be cooler than just about anywhere in the South. The rooms are good, but the views from the deck are great. Perfect place for wine and a sunset. Don't miss the restaurant the food was great and the service too. Multiple times I needed something from the front desk and each time they were more than accomodating. It was just a great trip and I wanted to say thanks.

Room Tip: Nest time I will save 10 dollars and stay upstairs, they have Queen Size beds and they are a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdcpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We visited the Pisgah Inn for a little getaway one weekend. It's about a half hour drive from Asheville down the Blue Ridge Parkway. We arrived late (11 pm) and fortunately, we had no trouble checking in so late.

Being that it's a mountain hotel/inn, I didn't have high expectations, but the room was nice and fairly updated. We had a king-size bed; it was a little worn (not firm), but comfortable to sleep in. And, of course, it was definitely quiet for a peaceful night's sleep. The rug had some previous water stains on it (probably from heavy rains that came in from the balcony), but I overlooked that. There was plenty of storage space for clothing (not that we needed it for one night). The sink was outside the bathroom to allow for someone to use it while someone else is using the shower or toilet. The shower was fairly modern with hot water. The wall heater in there didn't work too well, but fortunately, the main room one did. I cranked it up right after we checked in because it was a chilly night.

We slept well and woke up to a morning fog over the mountains that soon cleared, giving us nothing but blue skies, sunshine, and a spectacular mountain view right from our very own balcony, complete with brand new rocking chairs.

The on-site restaurant offers complimentary breakfast for guests. Unfortunately, it's not as nice as their regular breakfast, and you're given a set menu with four choices. You'd think for the price of a night, they could complete your visit with a super breakfast. Instead, I had basic scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, and toast that were "just ok." The restaurant itself has huge glass windows so you can enjoy the mountain view as you dine as well. There's only one row along the windows, though, so I'm sure it can get pretty ugly if someone's seated further back. High tops or raised booths in the back would definitely be in order here.

There's a gift shop on site, as well as a convenience store (mostly for the campers across the street). And we happened to visit during a craft show weekend (set up in the parking lot), so I was able to purchase some local honey.

All in all, it was a fantastic weekend getaway spot.

Room Tip: They all have mountain views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eak321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
15.3 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
15.3 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
16.4 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
12.2 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#1 of 4 in Brevard
364 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pisgah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pisgah Inn

Address: Milepost 408.6, Blue Ridge Pkwy., Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range: $80 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Pisgah Hotel Waynesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing