We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Mile High Mountain View Saves”
Review of Pisgah Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pisgah Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Incredible Mile High Mountain View Saves”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

At 5000 feet plus HIGH, a Super Cool Mountain view of forever from your room balcony saves this property from it's early 1900s motel management style. Yes, the fairly new rooms are squeaky clean, basic with ceiling fan and NO air conditioning (the heat is good). And really, the view from your room eastward out across the big valley IS UNIQUE and worth all the shortfall. Nothing like it in the South. The fantastic views are also enjoyed from its cliff side Restaurant. Good Service and Food. So much potential for excellence, this property is under served by its seasonal approach to just providing the view and basics. But, that is why we stayed and overlooked that. So deal with it.

The adjacent Blue Ridge Parkway provides easy access to beautiful Asheville NC just 15 miles north 3000 feet down the mountain via good road through 10 tunnels. Excellent Drive. The Biltmore Estate was placed there by George Vanderbilt for the same beauty you will enjoy. And the Parkway allows you easy turn off like a city street at US 25 right in the city. All you desire in selection of shops and dining is there as soon as you turn right at that exit. Stunning and so new!

Back up the Mountain, Mt Pisgah trail is from the Inn and a campground for those types is right across the Parkway which also sports a Country Store. All but Gas. So plan ahead. And just 3 miles south on the Parkway is the exit east toward Brevard for the close one of a kind SLIDING ROCK. If you are an Eskimo with a pair of Levi's and soft sole water shoes, you can actually launch into an exhilarating splash down the waterfall sliding into the roped deep water pool at the bottom. If it's it 90F, you have a few seconds before you lose all feeling in your body :). ENJOY. THIS WHOLE AREA is a Wonderland.

Room Tip: On a weekend insure you are not NEXT TO a scheduled party / wedding etc. There are 2 story rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukeusa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    143
    28
    16
    11
See reviews for
111
336
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived and were greeted graciously. First stay there and we were impressed by a very clean appearance and overall quaintness. The room was good and the Inn is older but one could tell it had been updated and so we were happy with our furnishings. I would say functional but not overly plush, but you must remember most people only stay one night or so or hike the area and use it for a base of operation. The weather was cool and quite a pleaure as we came from 90 degree weather. The free breakfast for guest was delicious and the menu prices were more than reasonable. The specialty dishes at dinner were delicious and the portins were generous. All the staff I talked to (maids, servers, ground keepers, and managers) were kind and very helpful. The gift shop even had good prices and you did not feel like you were preyed on by a tourist trap, that's a personal turnoff for me, and I was very happy with overall value. The place gets quiet at 9pm, the beds and pillows were better than 90% of the hotels I've seen so a good nights sleep is easy to get.
We will be more than happy to return for more time there.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are better for pictures off the balcony and the rooms at the eastern end away from the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SgtGWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my husband for a short get away. Check in was a breeze with the super friendly staff. The rooms are from another time period with paneling and small tube type tv mounted on the wall. But walk over to the window or out onto the balcony and it is better than the Ritz! The views are spectacular! The air is fresh and sitting in the rockers on your private balcony is peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are super clean with not even a speck of dust or mildew to be found. And even though they are not modern, they have a rustic charm. The restaurant is delicious and reasonably priced. The server, Crystal, was one of the best we have ever had. She made us feel like old friends. The price of the room includes full breakfast which was also good. This was our first trip but will not be our last, we loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Pisgah Inn is on the Blue Ridge Pkwy headed towards Asheville (if you are headed north). The Inn is miles away from the hustle and bustle of town. On our visit we stayed in the Treetop building. It's the newest but the furthest away from the office. That's not really a big deal if you have decent mobility as its a matter of a 1-2 minute walk.

The rooms are clean, well appointed and with a private balcony overlooking the majestic Appalachians. Early morning or late afternoon provide stunning views of an ever changing panorama.

Wireless is free but a bit sporadic. Cell coverage is limited on the property.

The restaurant has free hot/cooked to order breakfast as well as an additional menu if you don't like eggs, French toast, etc.
Take time to visit the gift shop for local artists, CD's of local musicians. A small country store is also on the grounds if you need supplies for a picnic.

The front office staff is very helpful, friendly and extremely accommodating. Special thanks to Derek who made our trip so nice this time we will be returning in October again.

Overall this is a great place to unplug, decompress, and relax.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crookedridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We were on the parkway & stopped mostly to get out & stretch- saw the place to eat & thought why not? We were wowed by the view & the food. Casual-authentic mountain place! The mountain trout - YUM! The locals all came -they knew the place well! We sat outside on tickets while waiting-surveying the fabulous sunset

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaroundtheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winter haven fl
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have stayed at this place before. It is located on the Blue Ridge Parkway Milepost 408.6 in the Great Smokey Mountains National Park. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Each room has a back door that leads to a private deck overlooking the Smokies. Sit on the deck and take in the beauty that surrounds you.

There is a restaurant on site that tends to be a little pricey but its a 30 mile drive over mountain roads to either Ashville or Waynesville - a good hour trip on those roads. The restaurant's food is excellent and the service superb.

Hotel guests are offered a free cooked to order breakfast from a selection of about a dozen items such as french toast or varieties of eggs. If none of the selections appeal to you you can order from the regular menu but you will have to pay for that.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The view is like flying over the mountains. This is 60s style motel with plain lines but the decks overlook the mountain valley. the restaurant has great food but do not expect low prices. This has been our third trip here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123456789834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
15.3 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
595 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,182 reviews
15.1 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pisgah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pisgah Inn

Property: Pisgah Inn
Address: Milepost 408.6, Blue Ridge Pkwy., Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Pisgah Hotel Waynesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing