We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view alone... WOW”
Review of Pisgah Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pisgah Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The view alone... WOW”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there 4 days in the last full week in October and it could not have been a better time to visit. The leaves were changing, the air was brisk. I really like this place. The rooms are plain, but comfortable (would be nice to have a small microwave in addition to the fridge/coffee maker).

The room is a bit pricey for what it is, but you are paying for the location and the view. Breakfast was included in the room cost, so that was an offset.

Wish they would allow staying guests to make reservations for the restaurant. The lines queue up long (hour plus most nights) and the pagers they hand out won't reach your room (per the greeter), so you are stuck hanging around the restaurant lobby while your room is just a few steps away. Another option could be to page you on your cell phone as signal was strong (Verizon).

The parking lot is crowded with visitors coming to the restaurant during lunch and dinner hours, but we normally had no issues in finding a space.

First time we stayed, but we will make this an annual visit.

Room Tip: We were in Tree Tops bldg on the second floor. Nice and quiet and far enough away from the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fsufanTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    140
    26
    15
    11
See reviews for
105
316
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our 4th year staying at the Pisgah Inn on the Blue Ridge Parkway. The rooms were newly renovated and they added free wifi. Every room has a balcony that looks out over the valley below. The restaurant is convenient and the food and staff are great. No fitness center, but you'll get plenty of exercise walking the many trails.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We rode our motorcycle on the Blue Ridge Parkway with the most beautiful colors and spectatular view, but to our great surprise this Inn was the highlight of our trip, the customer service and cleansiness was a plus to our expectations. We enjoyed the incredible food, everyone walking out rave about how delicious it was, no wonder, it's worth waiting for and want to come back again. The outside view is spectacular sitting on rocking chairs relaxing appreciate every minutes, Now I can say I saw God's Country!! Thanks Pisgah you made my 63rd birthday weekend the very best!! And we'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

After a long day of hiking, my husband and I were able to return to the comfort of the Pisgah Inn for relaxing and dining. We have wanted to stay here for many years while hiking in the area, but it is extremely difficult to get a reservation during the leaf season. So be sure to plan ahead! Our room was recently refurbished, very comfortable, clean and quite spacious. We were on the second floor with a fabulous view from our balcony, which, by the way, is equipped with very nice rocking chairs. We enjoyed our dinner in the very spacious, airy dining room. Food, wine and service were very good even though it was very busy and we missed sitting at a window table. At breakfast we were fortunate enough to secure a window table where we had the sensation of floating in the clouds. The clouds are not only above, but also below in the valley until the sun breaks through. Beautiful! Entire staff at Pisgah Inn are very friendly and welcoming. The proximity to a variety of trails just off the Blue Ridge Parkway makes Pisgah Inn the perfect "jumping off" spot. The hike up Mt. Pisgah is fairly strenuous, but the view is worth the trip to the top. Our very favorite spots are just a few miles to the West: Black Balsam Mountain and Shining Rock Wilderness. There are many trails here with different levels of difficulty, so a great choice of hiking for all ages. Black Balsam and Tennant Mountain offer 360 degree views. Highly recommend this area for all outdoor enthusiasts.

Room Tip: Second floor offers great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming , Ga.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Warm ; friendly staff and the best view in the Smokies from your back door. They have everything we needed for a great stay. Nice cozy bed and cable TV and breakfast was included. The restaurant is very good but gets busy with non guest visitors so plan ahead for that.

Room Tip: Every room has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keo1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at this inn in mid-October, 2012 at the recommendation of friends who come here regularly. It sounded like it would be hard to find, based on the Inn's own directions, but the road is direct (and simple) from either Asheville or Hendersonville, NC. Our room was second story and had been completely renovated recently. (All rooms overlook the Blue Ridge mountains.)
The restaurant was a bit pricey, but excellent. The restaurant does not accept reservations, so go early and be prepared to wait a bit to be seated. Planning ahead is a good idea. Put your name on the list, get a glass of wine and relax with the views until your table is available. The only thing I would add to the Inn is a large lodge/reception/gathering area where guests would have the option of mingling and meeting all the folks who visit this wonderful place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidATL45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful few days at the Pisgah Inn. From your balcony you have the best and most scenic view along the Blue Ridge Parkway! Our room was great, looked new and was spotless. The restaurant was delicious and had the same fantastic view. Numerous hiking trails depart right from your front door! We plan to stay a week next visit. You will love it here, friendly and knowledgable staff, perfect room, and the most beautiful scenery to be found anywhere.

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
15.3 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
15.1 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
14.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,677 reviews
14.2 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#6 of 19 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pisgah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pisgah Inn

Property: Pisgah Inn
Address: Milepost 408.6, Blue Ridge Pkwy., Waynesville, NC 28786
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Pisgah Hotel Waynesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing