We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Cheesecake!”

Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale
Ranked #8 of 119 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We serve regionally raised antibiotic and hormone-free beef, pork, and chicken. Many of our seasonal vegetables come from local farms,and our fresh fish (never frozen) is harvested from sustainable fisheries. Everything at the Bourbon Barrel is made from scratch.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lobster Cheesecake!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We're in the process of moving to the Waynesville area and had dinner here with my brother and his wife last Friday (Jan 24). We had the lobster cheesecake appetizer and can't stop thinking about it. The rest of the food was great too (along with the bourbon), but man, that, and the fried pickles, were sensational. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slartabartfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    98
    32
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First time”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Good service and an unbelievable meal off the beaten path. We had two meals, an appetizer and wine; all of which was excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glad we came back!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

After a few visits that did not meet our expectations, a return for dinner was a pleasant experience. The service and food were wonderful, including the best bread pudding I've ever enjoyed!

Bourbon Barrel seemed to be slipping a bit with their restaurant experience and if tonight is any indication, the are back on track!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank englishman252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
1 review
“Wow, what a great place!!!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My family had reservations last night. We too enjoyed perfect service. We were greeted and seated by a wonderful hostess. Our meals were outstanding. We all enjoyed the roasted red pepper and artichoke dip and oysters as our appetizers, my mother had the French onion soup which I just had to taste. It was superb. The salads were fresh and delicious. Several in my party chose the filet mignon. Everyone who had it proclaimed it to be the best they had ever had. The pork chop is a beautiful cut of meat that is delicious. It is tender and juicy with some kind of glaze that kicks it up a notch. My brother had the Hazelwood Chicken BLT. He ate every bite. Also, in addition to their good selection of both red and white wines, they have the best sweet tea! I will definitely go back to enjoy this place again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“More than beef available in this excellent local restaurant”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We were able to be seated on a Saturday night after being turned away at our first choice . Our dinner mates had been here before and described the spot as adequate . We found it terrific,the fried green tomatoes w grilled shrimp were far better than Paula Deans. My shrimp were plump and tender and the grits rivaled those of Charleston's better spots.my daughters steak was fine as was the meatloaf . The wine list is adequate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing