We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food in Waynesville!”

Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale
Ranked #8 of 120 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We serve regionally raised antibiotic and hormone-free beef, pork, and chicken. Many of our seasonal vegetables come from local farms,and our fresh fish (never frozen) is harvested from sustainable fisheries. Everything at the Bourbon Barrel is made from scratch.
Sylva, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Food in Waynesville!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wow....can't say enough about the Bourbon Barrel Beef and Ale in Hazelwood, NC!!! The food was to die for and the service was exceptional. We arrived without reservations (highly recommended on the weekend) and the hostess Karen was spectacular in allowing us to wait and hope for a cancellation....miracle! We got a table and everyone made our evening spectacular!!
If you're traveling to western North Carolina ..... don't miss this place!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    98
    33
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of My Favorites!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bourbon Barrel is an excellent place to dine in Waynesville. The atmosphere is warm and the people are friendly.There is a nice variety of food and it is always delicious. The food is of high quality and the presentation is always nice. This is a great place to go for celebrations and a place to gather with friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karin101912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great atmosphere but not so great on food and price.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Although this restaurant was recommended by several locals, I will have to say we were a bit disappointed. The prices were higher than others in town and the food was average. Although I would probably go back and try it once more since I know any restaurant can have a off night but their prices??

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!! A hidden gem!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Was recommended by a friend, so we met here for dinner. The best shrimp and cheese grits I ever put in my mouth! In the mountains, no less!! My friend bragged on the meatloaf and collards, and my elderly mother loved the mountain trout. Reasonably priced - great service. A definite repeat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilycole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This restaurant in the village of Hazelwood- have to go a bit past main street Waynesville to find Hazelwood Dr. Gets crowded so make dinner reservations if you are in area on Friday or Saturday night. Good quality beef used for beef dishes. I enjoyed a really tasty turkey rueben for lunch. Service very good

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nanna119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bourbon Barrel Beef & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing