We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in a relaxing setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tipping Point Tavern

Tipping Point Tavern
Ranked #18 of 115 Restaurants in Waynesville
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food in a relaxing setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile


We stopped here after a full day of outdoor exercise. The location is right downtown with tables, booths, and window seats for people and mountain watching. The staff was very helpful. The menu had a wise range of food and beer choices.


When in the area, I will definitely stop again..

Helpful?
Thank Finsleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    91
    43
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good brew-Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Met with friends for dinner. Beer was excellent but limited choices. Service was great! The appetizers were huge, plenty for four, and all good. The chili was excellent. The blackened fish sandwich was one of the best I've tasted. The aeoli sauce was full of flavor and spiced just right. We all were a bit disappointed in the wings-- they seemed "fatty", but flavor was good. Atmosphere for a Friday night was what we expected- a bit of a wait, but not too long. Will definitely return and try something different.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3589Guest1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lunch with a tasty IPA Brewed on site.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a nice lunch at the Tipping Point Tavern. Location is right in Main Street. Take a stroll to see the shops, but before you do enjoy a cold Tipping Point IPA. Excellent beer. Enjoyed a cold one with sandwiches. We had everything from a Ruben, burgers and gyros ordered at our table and nothing was left on our plates. The atmosphere is eclectic, license plates from all over on the walls, international flags, beer names for different batches brewed recently or about to be. Unique feel. I would go back for sure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jullie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
522 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Nice spot, worth going”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Nobody would certainly doubt that Waynesville, although historic, is NOT the center of the world. However it is pleasant, has a few nice B&Bs, and is located ideally in the Blue Ridge Mountains and not far away from the Biltmore. This brewery contributes to these comments on Waynesville, being located on Main. A busy and nice place which offers good to very good pub food and some interesting and tasty beers which deserve trying. Friendly and attentive service. Reasonable prices. You cannot make a mistake here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eberhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

This was a solid restaurant. For a brewery, however, they only had 2 home brews. They had other beers on draft from other breweries. The beer I tried, their pale ale, was a good pale ale, but not very hoppy for a pale ale. The food was very good. The chicken was well cooked and good quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frodo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipping Point Tavern also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tipping Point Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing