We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Spastic Service”

Tipping Point Tavern
Ranked #18 of 119 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Great Food, Spastic Service”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We usually go here for lunch after skiing and are usually very pleased with the food. Occasionally, we just don't like something, but we all have different tastes. My wife despises their gyro and I was unimpressed with it. Burgers have always been very good and the fried corn is delicious. Their micro brew beers - they can keep. Another micro brewery smokes them in that regard, though, again but we all like different beer types. My biggest complaint is one waitress who is ATROCIOUS. I would suggest leaving if you see a slender young lady with dark wavy hair coming to serve you. She must be the owner's daughter is something as she is consistently horrible - and we have given her way better tips than normal figuring she might have had a bad day - but apparently she is having a bad life, so it is back to normal 20%.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rk821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    95
    43
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Upbeat Fun Bar and Grill”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you want to have a beer and some fish and chips.. this is the place. A good spot when you want to go out for burgers, beer and ballgames on TV. Packed on weekend nights, some live music.. it's the local hang out.. Fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameron713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Beers and Good Food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I visited Waynesville on a weekend getaway in February. After a bit of strolling historic Waynesville, it was recommended we eat here. We were glad we did!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good for a quick bite”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located on the main walking route and having specials is a very good thing. I really enjoyed the Shepard's pie, a personal favorite. Not as crazy about the fish tacos though. Smiling and quick service was appreciated both times we visited.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TES1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good Food!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I would have never expected a bar to have such great food!!! Great beer selection and REALLY good fish tacos!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LocalYocal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipping Point Tavern also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tipping Point Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing