We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pot roast is a must”

Frogs Leap Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Frogs Leap Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 119 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montgomery
Description: A Unique Farm to Fork Experience: Innovative Southern Food with a Local Backbone & Home Grown Libations Frogs Leap Public House is a farm to table country pub at the corner of Church and Montgomery Streets, built in 1918 as the southeast's first Buick dealer just one block south of Main in the heart of historic downtown Waynesville. FLPH is focused on the culture, art, music, wine, beer and especially the food of Western North Carolina. Like the City of Waynesville itself, FLPH is Southern down to its roots, but draws influences from around the world. The food is fresh and local, the libations are home grown, the music is American and has a beat. FLPH is home to a family with a passion for serving world class food, wine, and spirits in a soulful, comforting atmosphere.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pot roast is a must”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great Brewhouse. The most popular dishs at our table was the pot roast, and the sliders. Food looked great, nice surroundings, and tasted wonderful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank myalchemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    127
    42
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Leap Past This One!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wow, what a wonderful surprise. Frogs Leap hit every lily pad in the pond; great atmosphere, great service and great food. Our server was so knowledgeable and welcoming. When women dine together, that is not always the case. Great local cheeses to choose from and great steak dinner and cocktails. Don't miss the gazpacho!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Although we cruised in sans reservation, we were treated in a friendly manner, and our waitress was very cordial and made suggestions without being pushy. I liked the varied menu and want to try to make that grit cake at home - yum. Food and presentation were more than satisfactory.
I was also pleased that there was no loud music to yell over. I didn't notice anyone smoking in the dining room, as another review mentioned, so perhaps it's been outlawed.

Pricey, yes, but quality doesn't cost, it pays.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RozFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“High Quality Food In A Casual Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We ate here about a year ago and then went back twice for lunch meals during our June trip to Waynesville. The food is expertly prepared, imaginative flavor pairings, made with all fresh ingredients. Favorites were the Parmesan-Truffle fries, the Parmesan Grit Cake, the Smoked Balsam Gardens Pork BBQ sandwich, the Muffaletta flatbread sandwich, and a moonshine, Prosecco and strawberry libation. Service is friendly and attentive. Prices are somewhat upscale, but on Tuesday through Thursday evenings (I think) from 4:00 to 6:00, you can get a very reasonably priced smaller portion entre and four sides. Their location is one block down the hill on Church Street - walking north off of Main Street. Parking can be tricky - especially very close to the restaurant - but the public parking lots are a block off either side of Main Street and are only about two blocks away from the restaurant. Waynesville has several good restaurants - including Asheville, this is one of the better and more creative restaurants in Western North Carolina.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food - Smoky Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The food here is truly magnificent, the chef knows what he is doing in pairing ingredients. I had the flat iron steak the other night (which I have never had, as I love my filets) it was amazing! Full of flavor, cooked exactly the way I asked, and LOTS of meat ($24). The menu changes every few days or so.

Why only four stars? They have a wood fired oven there, and you can always smell it, which I don't really mind, but the other night it was HORRIBLE you could see the smoke all throughout the restaurant. Kind of like camping - when you get home you smell the smoke in your hair and clothes. FLPH - Please retrofit some kind of exhaust fan near the oven.

My second complaint is about the manager (maybe owner?). On a good night she is terse and grumpy. This night I made a comment to the waiter that I though my whiskey was a bit short on the pour (a half inch of whiskey in a small glass including the rocks!) He must have mentioned it to her and she asked me what was wrong and I told her (very nicely) she tried defending the measley splash of whiskey, then literally grabbed my drink and stormed off. Minutes later she stormed back in and placed it on the table and left. Bear in mind that this is an expensive restaurant and the drinks are expensive, whiskey is $10 -16 per glass, so you expect good food and service. Also, lest you think I am a complainer, look at my other reviews. All positive.

PS. the other staff members are fantastic, every one is friendly and capable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank semicolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frogs Leap Public House also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Frogs Leap Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing