We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great evening out in waynesville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frogs Leap Public House

Frogs Leap Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Frogs Leap Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montgomery
Description: A Unique Farm to Fork Experience: Innovative Southern Food with a Local Backbone & Home Grown Libations Frogs Leap Public House is a farm to table country pub at the corner of Church and Montgomery Streets, built in 1918 as the southeast's first Buick dealer just one block south of Main in the heart of historic downtown Waynesville. FLPH is focused on the culture, art, music, wine, beer and especially the food of Western North Carolina. Like the City of Waynesville itself, FLPH is Southern down to its roots, but draws influences from around the world. The food is fresh and local, the libations are home grown, the music is American and has a beat. FLPH is home to a family with a passion for serving world class food, wine, and spirits in a soulful, comforting atmosphere.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great evening out in waynesville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had such a lovely dinner here! The food was just delicious and our server Donna could not have been more delightful! I had the arugula salad with goat cheese- the dried wild strawberries were a real treat! The popcorn shrimp were yummy with a little spice and a super ginger slaw. Others in our group had the steak- another good choice- and the mussels- no disappointed diners here. I would highly recommend this for dinner

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karenesullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    110
    36
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
1 review
“Best food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We enjoyed every aspect of our meal at Frogs Leap. The food was excellent, the service was awesome, and we loved the ambience!

An original menu with a southern flare!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaggieRollison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fairly pricey, a little inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I guess when you change the menu as often as this restaurant claims you are bound to run across a few clunkers. We have had some great meals and some very average ones. This restaurant is NOT cheap so the not so great ones hurt just a little more. Very innovative and probably some of the best food in Waynesville, but never really all that welcoming, it's almost like they are doing you a favor?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have visited twice. The first visit we sat in the bar and had appetizers and drink. Had a great experience which prompted our second visit. The second time was not the charm. Not sure if we caught a bad night, a bad server or both. Ordered the soup and sliders no more than medium rare. Simple enough. After not seeing the server for 15 minutes she delivers the sliders, well done. The buns were not toasted, they were black. I asked her about my soup to which she replied it must not have come out. Server speak for I forgot to order it. I ended up sending the sliders back and getting only the soup which was mediocre at best. Probably wont be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“truly amazing eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is one of 2 places where we go to treat ourselves when we've been good:) Great food and nice surroundings. Service is very attentive. I recommend this be one of the special places you visit when in Waynesville.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TES1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frogs Leap Public House also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Frogs Leap Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing