We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE. Hair in food?!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frogs Leap Public House

Frogs Leap Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Frogs Leap Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 115 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montgomery
Description: A Unique Farm to Fork Experience: Innovative Southern Food with a Local Backbone & Home Grown Libations Frogs Leap Public House is a farm to table country pub at the corner of Church and Montgomery Streets, built in 1918 as the southeast's first Buick dealer just one block south of Main in the heart of historic downtown Waynesville. FLPH is focused on the culture, art, music, wine, beer and especially the food of Western North Carolina. Like the City of Waynesville itself, FLPH is Southern down to its roots, but draws influences from around the world. The food is fresh and local, the libations are home grown, the music is American and has a beat. FLPH is home to a family with a passion for serving world class food, wine, and spirits in a soulful, comforting atmosphere.
Maggie Valley
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE. Hair in food?!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I am so disappointed and utterly disgusted with tonight's visit to Frog's Leap.
I first want to say that I am (was) a REPEAT customer, and a LOCAL (born and raised) I was so excited to have a restaurant like this in Waynesville - local food, great beer, fun atmosphere...Our first few visits were great! However tonight was a disaster.

My husband bit into one of the beef sliders and pulled out a LONG BLACK HAIR. We quietly called the bar tender over, she was very nice and professional and took the plate. We continued to drink our beer and recover out appetite, and waited for a response from the owner who was in and out of the bar. She finally came over to us, holding out the plate of food we had sent back and said "There is NO ONE in my kitchen that has hair this long, it must be yours (referring to me)" I was speechless that she would accuse me of putting hair in the food. Then she rudely said "well, do you want the rest of this?" and held out the plate of food. That was it.

If she had just nicely apologized and offered to get us something else - that would have been it. No problem. Instead, she stopped us from spending another $30 dollars on more drinks and desert, and worst of all - LOST A LOCAL CUSTOMER that would have come back all winter - long after the tourists were gone. NOT A GOOD BUSINESS MOVE!

There was a very nice couple sitting next to us that were in from out of town. They heard the whole thing and said they were disgusted by the way she handled it. 2 MORE LOST CUSTOMERS.

Seriously??

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank HaywoodCtyLOCAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    120
    40
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Limited choices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

It's a relatively new restaurant and people seem to like it. Seating is limited and reservations encouraged. My group liked it, but not a lot of choices on the menu. The bar area seemed to do a lot of business. The waitress was very good and very busy. Food was good but not something we'd have to do again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Horrible PR”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having arrived at 6:15 pm on a slow Tuesday evening, two of us we were greeted by an almost empty restaurant. The hostess was less than helpful when she asked if we had reservations, looked over her seating chart and said it would be an hour and one half. We never experienced a smile, a warm welcome or an apology that they couldn't seat us. We asked if you could eat in the bar and she snipped it was full and walked away. We decided to have a drink even though we felt less than welcome. I was hoping that we could get a few seats after someone was seated and it really has a great menu, wonderful ambience and it smelled like smoked BBQ. Well, the bar tender ignored us for ten minutes , so we threw in the towel. I would like to add, we were well dressed, two sweet little ladies with a great attitude. :) so, we left and walked around the corner and had a lovely wonderful meal and were treated well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelQueenSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude Treatment of Customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a reservation at this restaurant when traveling in NC. We were somewhat concerned as we walked to the restaurant by the dead and wilting flowers in the boxes on all of their windows.
We arrived about 15 minutes early, but were told it was not a problem. The hostess took us to a table for two that was immediately in line with a large table with 12-15 people seated at it and with no more than 2 feet separating the tables. We asked if we could be seated at an empty table for two at a a side window. She informed us very curtly that the table had been reserved for someone coming in later. After she walked away leaving us standing at the table that we saw as undesirable, we decided to leave. As we were walking out of the restaurant we told her the table was not workable for us as we did not wish to be so close to such a large party. I saw another empty table for two and asked about it and she said she had a party coming in 45 minutes later than she planned to seat there. She was rude and very dismissive of our concerns and offered no other alternative though there were any number of four tops empty in the restaurant. She said in a very high handed manner that other people had no problem with the table where we had been seated (though we doubt if such a large party always occupied the other tables adjacent to it).
At this point, we left feeling angry and as though we had been treated in a rude and inhospitable way. We cannot speak to the quality of the food, since we did not end up eating there. However, the service is some of the rudest we have ever experienced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onefunlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge Mountains
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Excellent as always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I had dinner at Frog's Leap Public House in Waynesville, and oh boy - was it good!! We split the smoked trout appetizer, as well as an entree of duck. Both were delicious! Service was good and the wine is priced nicely. We love the cozy surroundings and the upbeat atmosphere. We will return again and again!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frogs Leap Public House also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Frogs Leap Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing