We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food & Staff”

Frogs Leap Public House
Reserve with OpenTable
Frogs Leap Public House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 119 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Montgomery
Description: A Unique Farm to Fork Experience: Innovative Southern Food with a Local Backbone & Home Grown Libations Frogs Leap Public House is a farm to table country pub at the corner of Church and Montgomery Streets, built in 1918 as the southeast's first Buick dealer just one block south of Main in the heart of historic downtown Waynesville. FLPH is focused on the culture, art, music, wine, beer and especially the food of Western North Carolina. Like the City of Waynesville itself, FLPH is Southern down to its roots, but draws influences from around the world. The food is fresh and local, the libations are home grown, the music is American and has a beat. FLPH is home to a family with a passion for serving world class food, wine, and spirits in a soulful, comforting atmosphere.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Staff”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is a wonderful restaurant with fresh foods obtained in the local area and great owners and staff, who are very friendly, attentive and welcoming. My wife and I have eaten at FLPH frequently, both in the restaurant and in the adjacent bar. Both locations are warm, cozy, and relaxing. It is our favorite restaurant in Waynesville, not only because of the delicious meals, but also because of the great staff. The menu changes frequently and the presentation of the meals is second to none. Do yourself a favor and enjoy the food and atmosphere at FLPH. You will return again and again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank gdt655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    127
    42
    11
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Asheville's Best New Restaurant...Is in Waynesville!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Okay, that might be a slight exaggeration, but Frogs Leap Public House brings a welcomed new level of dining to the Waynesville, that should not be overlooked.

Positioned in the old Lomo Grill space on Church Street, Frogs Leap Public House serves up some of the best grub around.

I'm told that the chef always tries to procure ingredients from local sources first, but will only use these if the quality of the ingredients meets his standards. As a result, the food served is consistently awesome!

The menu changes often, and can range from Cassoulet to Meatloaf, to their "1855" Skirt Steak, and fresh seafood, including Shrimp & Grits. Most offerings cost around $30.00.

For those wanting a slightly smaller portion, the restaurant offers several entrees weekdays from 4:00 - 6:00 PM at significantly reduced prices. Most are around $14.00 - $16.00, including side dishes.

Some diners may not be ready for the full flavors of some of the dishes offered. So, be advised; this is not the restaurant for those looking for blandness.

The decor is rustic and upscale, fitting perfectly in the local mountain vibe. The full bar is particularly cozy, with some of the most innovative libations around. During the holidays, their toddies are not to be missed!

Diners wanting an up-close experience, can snag a seat at the “chef’s table” (a horseshoe bar wrapping around the kitchen), and watch the preparations while munching away at delights like Devils on Horseback, and (my favorite) Tokyo Tostadas. Yum!

Clearly, I'm a big fan of Frog's Leap Public House. As a semi-annual resident of the area, I have been blown away by the level of "foodie-friendliness" offered there. And my city-slicker guests have agreed. This is the best restaurant around.

Word is that lunch will be rolled out in April, 2012.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank riprussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, SC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Apps and Wine at the Bar was great”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The staff was friendly, the farm to table menu was off the wall!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank SkeeterKnees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best this little town has to offer”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

As a foodie I am usually very critical so it was a surprise to find this restaurant in our small town. Imaginative menu well executed although sauces were bit heavy handed drowning the star on the plates. We had a cheese plate just a taster, Caesar salad excellent, shrimp and grit cake very good flavors, shrimp & chicken brochettes were average. Best wine Pellegrini Chardonnay. We would definitely go back, but next time I hope the hostess doesn't make us wait 20 minutes beyond our reservation time when the restaurant was only 1/4 full. We stood at the door waiting when we could have been seated looking at the menu, the bar was packed we couldn't get a drink while waiting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Food in Town”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Frog's Leap has some of the best food in Western NC. It's all fresh and locally grown/farmed. When we visited my wife and I were both amazed. The steak I had was one of the best I've ever tasted. We were also treated to an impromptu performance by a local band that made the evening very special.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank voteforkyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frogs Leap Public House also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Frogs Leap Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing