We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like eating in Ybor City Tampa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nico's Cafe - CLOSED

Nico's Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like eating in Ybor City Tampa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Authentic Spanish/Cuban dishes that we were used to when we live in Tampa. We love the Cuban sandwiches.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clyde, North Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“New Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Easier to find, way better parking, drive through window... You got to try there breakfast menu. There Mojo pork is the best. I'm a big fan of there Black Beans and Rice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank funinthesun28721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Wraps at Nico's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I had lunch today at Nico's Cafe. It is located in downtown Waynesville and unfortunately, they are moving to a new location on Russ Ave. in about a week. I personally like their present location and the ambiance of the basement like feeling the present location delivers. So, hurry if you want to be among the last to eat at this location before their move. Now, the food...we ordered a Greek Wrap and a Veggie Wrap so we could split them and get to try both. They were marvelous, to quote Billy Crystal. They were large, had been pressed so that they were crisp, and filled to the brim. To say they were delicious is an understatement. We both added the homemade potato salad and had fountain drinks, which were re-fill-able. Not fast food priced, but not fast food quality, you are looking at $10 to $12 each. We will be back!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingtomnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Open 'til 9:00 Fri and Sat., Moving October 1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

First time at Nico's, we had an early dinner because we expected them to close at 5:00. Surprise, they are open until 9:00 Friday and Saturday. Dinner special was pork with rice and beans. Not bad, but my wife's small salad was terrific. Friendly staff and great value. We will return. NOTE MOVING: Nico's is moving October 1 to the Waynesville Plaza where Coffee Zone was.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stout-scarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best food in Waynesville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Nico's has the best soup, the most delicious Mojo pork on the planet, and great salads. Their only drawbacks are: they charge too much for extra bread, and they don't have full table service.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank aimrichmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico's Cafe also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing