We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ around”

Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue
Ranked #16 of 120 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best BBQ around”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The best BBQ I have had in the area. Highly recommended! Baby back ribs are the bomb, and you gotta have the beans. Baked potatoes fit for a kind

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    81
    34
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Had a disappointing take out dinner because they only serve baby back ribs. Okay but nothing special. Also had fried chicken sandwich in our party and it was dry and very thin fillet of chicken. Not likely to go back the next time we are in the area. Service was friendly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cookieglowaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fat Buddies was a little hard to find because it is in a shopping center. An unassuming store front hides a quaint BBQ joint complete with NASCAR posters and sports on TV ( no sound). You hardly notice the country music playing softly in the background because the food is out of this world. My husband and I shared a platter that had a rack of ribs, beef brisket, fabulous baked beans, fries, and garlic bread. Our waitress suggested that we share a platter because the price was reasonable and the food abundant. We had plenty to eat and even shared the brownie dessert. We will definitely go back. They are open 6 days a week, closed Sunday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gibbs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our group of about 40 ate here when we returned from a day trip to the Biltmore in Asheville....we were staying a Lake Junaluska Conference Center. Food was delicious, staff very accommodating and everything was ready for us when we arrived. Everyone commented on how good the BBQ was, the Baked Beans were excellent and I absolutely loved the Coleslaw. They brought us out a variety of desserts which were yummy and came around with ice cream to top it off. Would definitely recommend if you are in mood for BBQ....have no idea what else was on menu because food was pre-ordered by group leader.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The BBQ is excellent. Service is outstanding. Very family friendly with ice cream for the kids. Will definitely visit again when we are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BIGRlilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Clyde, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing