We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best BBQ around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue

Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue
Ranked #18 of 112 Restaurants in Waynesville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best BBQ around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The best BBQ I have had in the area. Highly recommended! Baby back ribs are the bomb, and you gotta have the beans. Baked potatoes fit for a kind

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    70
    29
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Had a disappointing take out dinner because they only serve baby back ribs. Okay but nothing special. Also had fried chicken sandwich in our party and it was dry and very thin fillet of chicken. Not likely to go back the next time we are in the area. Service was friendly

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cookieglowaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fat Buddies was a little hard to find because it is in a shopping center. An unassuming store front hides a quaint BBQ joint complete with NASCAR posters and sports on TV ( no sound). You hardly notice the country music playing softly in the background because the food is out of this world. My husband and I shared a platter that had a rack of ribs, beef brisket, fabulous baked beans, fries, and garlic bread. Our waitress suggested that we share a platter because the price was reasonable and the food abundant. We had plenty to eat and even shared the brownie dessert. We will definitely go back. They are open 6 days a week, closed Sunday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our group of about 40 ate here when we returned from a day trip to the Biltmore in Asheville....we were staying a Lake Junaluska Conference Center. Food was delicious, staff very accommodating and everything was ready for us when we arrived. Everyone commented on how good the BBQ was, the Baked Beans were excellent and I absolutely loved the Coleslaw. They brought us out a variety of desserts which were yummy and came around with ice cream to top it off. Would definitely recommend if you are in mood for BBQ....have no idea what else was on menu because food was pre-ordered by group leader.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The BBQ is excellent. Service is outstanding. Very family friendly with ice cream for the kids. Will definitely visit again when we are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BIGRlilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing