We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best BBQ around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue

Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue
Ranked #17 of 113 Restaurants in Waynesville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best BBQ around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The best BBQ I have had in the area. Highly recommended! Baby back ribs are the bomb, and you gotta have the beans. Baked potatoes fit for a kind

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    75
    31
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Had a disappointing take out dinner because they only serve baby back ribs. Okay but nothing special. Also had fried chicken sandwich in our party and it was dry and very thin fillet of chicken. Not likely to go back the next time we are in the area. Service was friendly

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cookieglowaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fat Buddies was a little hard to find because it is in a shopping center. An unassuming store front hides a quaint BBQ joint complete with NASCAR posters and sports on TV ( no sound). You hardly notice the country music playing softly in the background because the food is out of this world. My husband and I shared a platter that had a rack of ribs, beef brisket, fabulous baked beans, fries, and garlic bread. Our waitress suggested that we share a platter because the price was reasonable and the food abundant. We had plenty to eat and even shared the brownie dessert. We will definitely go back. They are open 6 days a week, closed Sunday.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our group of about 40 ate here when we returned from a day trip to the Biltmore in Asheville....we were staying a Lake Junaluska Conference Center. Food was delicious, staff very accommodating and everything was ready for us when we arrived. Everyone commented on how good the BBQ was, the Baked Beans were excellent and I absolutely loved the Coleslaw. They brought us out a variety of desserts which were yummy and came around with ice cream to top it off. Would definitely recommend if you are in mood for BBQ....have no idea what else was on menu because food was pre-ordered by group leader.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The BBQ is excellent. Service is outstanding. Very family friendly with ice cream for the kids. Will definitely visit again when we are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BIGRlilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Fat Buddies Ribs & Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing