We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHOULD NO LONGER BE A HIGH RATED CAMPGROUND”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Have stayed there years ago.....kinda expected pool to have been repaired........indoor pool structurally coming apart.....pool actually closed one day on our stay. WI/FI inop at different times.......office people go out of their way tyo be rude (someone cannot be that way naturally)......online reservations DOES NOT WORK!!...scheduled a trip and after calling found oput my reservations could not be had.......had to reschedule and they are not responsible for anything done online..............after some 150+ campgrounds in 44 states and 4 previous stays at this campground.............NO MORE..............and a complaint to both Woodalls and Trailer Life to review them ASAP

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailboatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 206 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2010

This place is horrible! We arrived on July 16th and the very first night the electricity went out at the campground for several sites. Several of us from different sites tried to contact someone from the campground but to no avail. They do not list any emergency contact info for anything on their website or paerwork that is given when you check in. Everyone had to wait until 9 am the next day for the power to be restored in 90 degree weather. They said it was no big deal. The fix took all of 15 minutes from the power comapny and could have been fixed hours before if contact info had been posted. There is also no security of any type. You are on your own for everything after the office closes and all the staff abandons the campground. The water also went out at the camp site on another night and rather than them tell anyone, they just locked up the bathrooms. Any contact made with any staff is met with rudeness and the feeling that you are wasting their time. The water is nasty at the campground and the bath houses are not the cleanest. Custodians are there supposedly cleaning the bath houses at the most inopportune time each day and it is never the same time any day so it is hit or miss to avoid them and who knows what they are doing while there becasue it sure doesn't seem that they are properly cleaning the bath houses. They spent more time outside of them leaning on their golf carts and talking than anything else. The labor staff runs up and down the main road in vehicles that are illegal for the road while they are transferring people's trailers who would be sadly surprised if they saw how their property was being abused. The wifi was sporadic at best even though I was on the camp site closest to their tower. I had to wait until I got home to keep my signal to list this review. I will never make this mistake at OBX again, There are several other campgrounds within a mile that are nicer and friendlier. Notice on their site how limited refunds are. I wonder why?

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grandview21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I agree with previous reviewers about the lack of cleanliness and rudeness of staff here. They also nickle and dime you to death, extra $$ for each kid, $3 for your pet per nite, extra for cable...came out to $103 per nite AFTER Good Sam discount!! Plus, the water is undrinkable, very briny, and we lost all water to the park one nite. Wifi NEVER worked, had to sit in lounge to get a working connection, even drove thru the park to see where signal was strong...nowhere! Beach was nice but not worth the cost. No real good restaurants around, not sure the location is all that great either.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheLongLongTrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Sound side, site 355 good spot BUT. The bathrooms were terrible. showers were not clean, could see the dirt ring on showers. rules at pool, campgrounds were not folowed or inforced. motor scotter and people at pool were not courteous to others. no parental supervision. kids running all around. chlorine from pool burned our eyes. one night we had no electric so no air and then their was no water another night. I would not come here again. the rating of 10/9.5/9.5 should of been 5/4.5/4.5. I was dissappointed after paying such a high price and then getting the slums. water pressure was terrible and you couldn't drink it either. Quite a let down. YUCK!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

The location was great, very near the beach on one side and sound across the street, great breeze while we were there, but priced on the high side. Charged an extra $3.00 per night for cable, which considerating the rate we paid--was excessive. Indoor and outdoor pool was nice. Very few pull-thru's, but the sites were level. No shade at all. .

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandR1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We've been here a week and can't find anything outstanding about the campground. It's very worn and tired. Picnic tables as well as wooden walkways have nails sticking up about 1/4 inch. Staff is non existent and/or not very friendly. Every trip to purchase something or ask a question at the office was met with ignorance to the question or not able to work computer system. Bathrooms are not very clean. Not sure if the pool chemicals are checked. Was at the pool for hours and staff never made an appearance except for someone to walk by and say "get off the rope - it broke yesterday". Walkways to the beach are difficult to use - I think there is a wooden walkway beneath inches of sand on the main walkway?!? Will not stay here again - campground down the road is more appealing for half the price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beacher54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We just returned from a week of camping at Camp Hatteras and had a great time. We stayed in a premium sound location which was nice but, not sure we would book one of these again since you are not able to see because of high grass. It might be worth it in high season to have privacy though. Our kids loved the playground, pool and mini golf. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were so clean and convenient that we opted to shower in there for some extra space and really cold air conditioning! This has become a must for us and are planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVGV02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waves
24.3 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
21.3 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
25.3 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#8 of 16 in Hatteras Island
75 reviews
21.2 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
284 reviews
21.2 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground

Address: Highway 12 MP 40.5, PO Box 10, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27968
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Waves
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waves
Price Range: $25 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Ocean front and Sound front campground on the Outer Banks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Hatteras Rv Hotel Waves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing