We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here in the off season, camped on the ocean side of the resort and found everything well run. Great to wake up to sunrises over the ocean. Flew our kite on the beach, picked shells, walked the great beach up to the Rodanthe Pier. Office staff extremely cooperative. They can give you permits to have a campfire on the beach and also sell wood for the fires.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank continentaldrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have never been to the outer banks before and decided to go straight here for a few days after leaving Ocean City MD. Thought we were staying someone else and got very worried. Best mistake I have ever made. This campground is right on the beach. The sound of the waves at night and not having to drive to the beach made the stay wonderful. Had great activities even for Labor Day weekend. I didn't want to leave. The beach is very clean and has great swimming. Even the dogs can enjoy the water if the want. The staff are very nice and will help with anything request. We stayed for four nights and couldn't get enough. The sound is right across the street with Jet ski rental etc. Fishing on site and both indoor and outdoor pools. Kids have plenty to do. Can't wait for the next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This campground is small and tucked away between the main road and the dunes. Very nice beach access over the dunes to the east, and lots of trees, especially around the more westerly camp sites. Clean bath houses. Feels very family friendly and orderly. A quiet retreat. There is a small pool next to the office. Hope to visit again!

Room Tip: If you want shade, choose a spot away from the ocean. There are no ocean views, big dunes protect th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThePracticalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was the maiden voyage of our travel trailer! After being in the hospital with cancer for 7.5 months, we decided to purchase a small 22 foot travel trailer and fulfill a couple of bucket list items: Visit the Outer Banks, Camp on a Beach (RV style), Visit the Wright Brothers Memorial (part of our USAF heritage), and be together after a long stay in the hospital.

We chose CHRVR based on many of the comments here and other websites over the campground next door. We visited the one next door during our stay and we have to say it was like visiting a circus, was very busy (folks everywhere), and seemed a bit messy. Nevertheless, our stay which was relegated to the night and morning because of touring the local area was splendid. They honor military folks with a discount and that was much appreciated.

We both understand that vacationing/RV'g is what it is, yet we are 39/40 respectively and love our internet and TV when lounging--with that being said, the WiFi is hit and miss and we understand the interference and such, but when you're just a few campsites away from the antennae, we should at minimum get some sort of coverage (outdoors). Nevertheless, we found a solution to install in and around the TT.

Outside of my one complaint (WiFi), this was a great campground--location was perfect (away from main traffic areas/beaches/people), staff were pleasant, facilities were nice and it was a wonderful maiden voyage.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ATC_EWD_Voyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a great time we had. Most beach RV sites are slammed together with few if any amenities. These were nicely spaced, the site pads were cement and level. We did not get to all the things there to do because the beach was wonderful! And I am by no way a beach person. The bathrooms were cleaned constantly. Staff was very pleasant and having a person on the gate made the place more secure. I will go again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimBauernfeind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We came from FL, had not been to Outer Banks (OBX) NC in 25 years. This is by fare the best place to camp. Had access to both Beach for swimming and Sound for Kayaking. It was windy, and sunny and cloudy and some light rain. Great restaurants, shopping, Wright Brothers museum, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, nevere a dull moment.

Room Tip: We spent last week in July, first week in August. Weather was great, changed everyday, but if you di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved this campground. Very spacious sites and kept very clean. The staff does a great job of keeping the bath and shower facilities spotless. They were hot inside but you are at the beach. Store is stocked with light groceries and other needs. The front desk staff was very friendly and made us feel like we were home. Pool area is very nice and kept very clean. Many planned activities for kids and adults. Beach access is on the north and south side of the campground with a boardwalk and pavilion at the north side. Only complaint we had was the people cutting through our site to get to the beach. I paid the extra fee to be oceanfront all to have the people that paid $10 per night less cut through my site. I figure the campground could do a better job of enforcing the rule of not cutting through. (Although I must say that this is normal at other campgrounds too?) Anyway this is our new spot for our yearly trip to Hatteras Island OBX!!!

Room Tip: Sound side bath house has AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground

Address: Highway 12 MP 40.5, PO Box 10, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27968
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Waves
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waves
Price Range: $25 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Ocean front and Sound front campground on the Outer Banks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Hatteras Rv Hotel Waves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing