We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No shade, some space between sites, a little expensive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No shade, some space between sites, a little expensive”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

All back in sites, on both sides of the road so you can pick bay side or ocean side. Full hockups. We stayed on the ocean side, one line back from the water, there is no view due to the sand dunes but a short walk to the water. Staff is friendly. We paid $60 a night, there was an extra charge for cable tv. Picnic tables and cement pads. 3 pools and fishing ponds are provided. We found it very quiet and the weather is not too hot in September.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    58
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
103
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glassboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have been camping for years and they actually charged us $5.00 an hour for arriving before check in even though the site was empty so extra 20 to come to our site, it gives you a bad first impression. Then cable is more,pets cost more, the price only includes 2 adults all kids over 6 are $4.00 each per day!
Just not used to paying these kind of add on.
The campground it self is nice only because of the concrete sites, which could be bigger. But for this area they are not bad.
Ocean Lakes MB SC has it all over this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D and J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Nice facility, could not believe the damage they had from hurricane Irene in 2011 and all was repaired, campground looks like it had no damage.

Camped sound-side and had a great view of the Pamlico sound. Wifi worked most of the time but did slow down early morning and after sunset. Staff was very friendly. Restroom/shower house on sound side did have A/C. Cable tv was a upcharge, kind of suprised by that. Large beach with easy access.

Watch out for the mosquito's on sound side. They are really bad if no wind. Pool area very nice and well kept. Also have Game room with pool tables. A couple of restaurants within walking distance were good. atlantic coast cafe, breakfast, lunch, dinner, eat in and good take out service, Good winds has full bar and great sound / sunset views, made for a great trip.

Room Tip: lot 380 is the best spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rognelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Of the campgrounds available in the Rodanthe area, this one is probably the nicest but also the priciest. During our stay this past week, the hot tub was broken and the Wifi did not work on the premier site that we stayed on - - #73. Feel a little ripped off since no refund was given for amenities that I paid for but weren't available for use. However, things happen. Staff was nice and campground was clean. If I were to go back to this area to camp, I would probably camp here again but won't waste my money on a premier site. If you go, take a lot of strong mosquito spray. The mosquitoes were horrible and 40% Deet didn't keep them away for very long.

Room Tip: Sound side has beautiful sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, WI
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Summary: Primarily an RV resort in a great location. Beach and sound are an easy walk from your campsite. Office and swimming pool area very well kept. No shade to speak of, relatively close quarters to the next campsite, bathrooms NEED A/C and could stand for an update. Quite expensive, but options are limited.

The good: We loved the location. The campground stretches the entire width of the island with the highway running through it. Beach access is quite nice and we liked the stretch of beach. Walk the other direction and you're on the sound. Watch the sunset and kite surfers for good entertainment. The office area and staff are fabulous. Other is an outdoor and indoor pool which are nice. Things were crowded in the pool during our stay. The pool is good sized, not huge. While this is a relatively large campground, things are pretty close, all within walking distance. Tennis courts, mini-golf and playground area were very nice although $3 per person for mini golf seemed a bit steep. The number and locations of bathrooms and showers were good.

The bad: No shade. Frankly, don't expect any shade anywhere on the outer banks. We had a pop up with A/C but were blown around pretty well for 3 days straight. There is little reprieve from the wind also. My biggest disappointment was in the bathrooms and showers. Things were not as new as I had expected based upon the website pictures. Everything was usable, just dated. No air conditioning in the bath houses. When it's 80's and 90's in the summer, we were sweating the second we hopped out of the showers until we left the bath house. Not an issue for people with RV's and their own showers, but for tenters and pop up owners know what you're getting into. Also, the Wi-Fi was horrible. For having multiple access points, we could connect but had absolutely no bandwidth. For the price you pay (>$80 a night) I was expecting quite a bit more. Camping options are limited and all expensive. I've paid half as much and seen twice as nice campgrounds in other areas of the country.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WICampFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wynonah, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here the 2nd week of June for the whole week. If you want relaxation and time away from all the crowds and hustle, this is the place! My four year old daughter loved riding her bike to the beach and pools, and had no trouble peddling the short distances to everything. Beach is close, pools are close and some great restaurants are right down the road.
This is about a 30 minute ride from all the action that happens up in kitty hawk and nags head, but 2 or 3 trips up that way was enough for us to hit all the shops and catch a good All u Can eat seafood buffet. We much preferred the calm, relaxing area that this campground is in, and didnt really wanna go home at the end of the week.
I would recommend strapping down your awning just to be safe with the winds, and bring mosquito repellent in case the wind does ever stop :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was here in June of 2011 (see earlier review).
In August of 2011 the Outer Banks was hit by a devastating hurricane so severe that the fragile island near Rodanthe was cut open. For weeks there was no access to the lower part of Hatteras Island on the Outer Banks until a temporary bridge was built across the new, as yet unnamed, inlet.
Meanwhile, Camp Hatteras suffered huge damage to its infrastructure. Buildings, propane tanks, electrical equipment, power lines were scattered about like toys.
Yet, less than a year later Camp Hatteras is back, and so am I.
It's the only campground in this area with concrete pads, excellent electrical, Wi-Fi and cell service. The caveat is that while your cell phone and computer will show robust signals, all data leaves the Outer Banks over limited bandwidth circuits. And Rodanthe is about as remote as you can get on the OBX.
The well-based water system here suffered salt water incursion which is great for cooking but makes for nasty coffee and cocktails. Bring bottled water.
The ladies at the front desk continue to be about the sweetest on the planet, particularly Ms Teach. (Her husband is rumored to be related to the famous pirate of the Outer Banks).
Camp Hatteras continues to run three swimming pools and spreads across NC Highway 12 from Pamlico Sound to the Atlantic Ocean, a distance of about a quarter-mile. As they say, "It's life on a sandbar."
While Camp Hatteras is the most expensive RV resort on Hatteras Island, you get what you pay for. Dependable 50 amp electricity, cable TV (extra charge), free WiFi and sewer connections.
The lots are spacious and big-rig friendly, although larger coaches will have a tight fit if your toad is parked on your site. The men's rooms that I checked early on morning were clean as a pin.
The two other major campgrounds just south of Camp Hatteras are still undergoing huge renovation following the August 2011 hurricane. Camp Hatteras got its act together quickly and got the job done.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomgauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waves
23.8 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
21.9 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
24.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
28.3 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#10 of 16 in Hatteras Island
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground

Property: Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground
Address: Highway 12 MP 40.5, PO Box 10, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27968
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Waves
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Ocean front and Sound front campground on the Outer Banks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Hatteras Rv Hotel Waves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing