We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, some amenities need work”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, WI
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location, some amenities need work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Summary: Primarily an RV resort in a great location. Beach and sound are an easy walk from your campsite. Office and swimming pool area very well kept. No shade to speak of, relatively close quarters to the next campsite, bathrooms NEED A/C and could stand for an update. Quite expensive, but options are limited.

The good: We loved the location. The campground stretches the entire width of the island with the highway running through it. Beach access is quite nice and we liked the stretch of beach. Walk the other direction and you're on the sound. Watch the sunset and kite surfers for good entertainment. The office area and staff are fabulous. Other is an outdoor and indoor pool which are nice. Things were crowded in the pool during our stay. The pool is good sized, not huge. While this is a relatively large campground, things are pretty close, all within walking distance. Tennis courts, mini-golf and playground area were very nice although $3 per person for mini golf seemed a bit steep. The number and locations of bathrooms and showers were good.

The bad: No shade. Frankly, don't expect any shade anywhere on the outer banks. We had a pop up with A/C but were blown around pretty well for 3 days straight. There is little reprieve from the wind also. My biggest disappointment was in the bathrooms and showers. Things were not as new as I had expected based upon the website pictures. Everything was usable, just dated. No air conditioning in the bath houses. When it's 80's and 90's in the summer, we were sweating the second we hopped out of the showers until we left the bath house. Not an issue for people with RV's and their own showers, but for tenters and pop up owners know what you're getting into. Also, the Wi-Fi was horrible. For having multiple access points, we could connect but had absolutely no bandwidth. For the price you pay (>$80 a night) I was expecting quite a bit more. Camping options are limited and all expensive. I've paid half as much and seen twice as nice campgrounds in other areas of the country.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WICampFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    57
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
98
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wynonah, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here the 2nd week of June for the whole week. If you want relaxation and time away from all the crowds and hustle, this is the place! My four year old daughter loved riding her bike to the beach and pools, and had no trouble peddling the short distances to everything. Beach is close, pools are close and some great restaurants are right down the road.
This is about a 30 minute ride from all the action that happens up in kitty hawk and nags head, but 2 or 3 trips up that way was enough for us to hit all the shops and catch a good All u Can eat seafood buffet. We much preferred the calm, relaxing area that this campground is in, and didnt really wanna go home at the end of the week.
I would recommend strapping down your awning just to be safe with the winds, and bring mosquito repellent in case the wind does ever stop :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was here in June of 2011 (see earlier review).
In August of 2011 the Outer Banks was hit by a devastating hurricane so severe that the fragile island near Rodanthe was cut open. For weeks there was no access to the lower part of Hatteras Island on the Outer Banks until a temporary bridge was built across the new, as yet unnamed, inlet.
Meanwhile, Camp Hatteras suffered huge damage to its infrastructure. Buildings, propane tanks, electrical equipment, power lines were scattered about like toys.
Yet, less than a year later Camp Hatteras is back, and so am I.
It's the only campground in this area with concrete pads, excellent electrical, Wi-Fi and cell service. The caveat is that while your cell phone and computer will show robust signals, all data leaves the Outer Banks over limited bandwidth circuits. And Rodanthe is about as remote as you can get on the OBX.
The well-based water system here suffered salt water incursion which is great for cooking but makes for nasty coffee and cocktails. Bring bottled water.
The ladies at the front desk continue to be about the sweetest on the planet, particularly Ms Teach. (Her husband is rumored to be related to the famous pirate of the Outer Banks).
Camp Hatteras continues to run three swimming pools and spreads across NC Highway 12 from Pamlico Sound to the Atlantic Ocean, a distance of about a quarter-mile. As they say, "It's life on a sandbar."
While Camp Hatteras is the most expensive RV resort on Hatteras Island, you get what you pay for. Dependable 50 amp electricity, cable TV (extra charge), free WiFi and sewer connections.
The lots are spacious and big-rig friendly, although larger coaches will have a tight fit if your toad is parked on your site. The men's rooms that I checked early on morning were clean as a pin.
The two other major campgrounds just south of Camp Hatteras are still undergoing huge renovation following the August 2011 hurricane. Camp Hatteras got its act together quickly and got the job done.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomgauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent a week in July 2012 here and the campground is very well kept.Very nice staff, even though our reservations were messed up when we arrived the staff fixed it very fast and we were satisfied.The beach access isn't much and the lifeguards are forever more driving 50 mph down the beach in trucks so keep close watch on your kids. We enjoyed the beaches just out from the campground to be much nicer with small children.The Internet needs work wifi does not work. This campground allows dogs everywhere and people don't keep them on leashes or pick up their messes and no one enforces the leash rule. I'm not much of a animal person but I can tolerate them if owners properly take responsibility for them in which they did not do here. I'm not talking little dogs either I mean big dangerous dogs! We will visit the outer banks again and will most likely stay here again I just hope they do better in the future with the beach access,Internet,and animals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed for 4 days in July 2012. Great location...lots to do near campground. Great staff, great beach access, very clean grounds, nice indoor/outdoor pool, nice game room, effective quiet hours.. want to go back now! Only negative - wifi needs help.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We camped there over the Memorial Day Week-end...and had also camped there on one other occasion. Nice place and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I had somewhat of a tight space for my 33' motor home. When I visit again I will request another site more big rig friendly. Don't drink the water - they will tell you it is "nasty". WIFI a little sketchy. Bunches and bunches of children riding bikes so be extra careful and go SLOW. Those little critters on vacations and they don't see you. I especially liked the grass and being able to put out our rug on the cement level pad.....we were in close proximity to the beach. Definitely will visit again, Lord willing.

Room Tip: If you have a big rig not all spots are friendly.....be careful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bobby514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

Rodanthe on the Outer Banks is about as far to sea as you can get and still be on dry land. During hurricanes there might not be any dry land as the thin strip of this barrier reef is so low that the ocean call rolll right over it during a storm.
Camp Hatteras is large and extends from ocean to sound and is big-rig friendly with dependable 50-amp power and good TV signal over a stable coax connection. Water pressure was excellent. Our site was on the ocean side with quick access to the beach.
The swimming pool, laundry and the grounds are clean and well maintained and the friendly ladies at the front desk made check-in a breeze.
For flavor, rent the movie "Nights at Rodanthe." The house is still there, but has been relocated and is now a B&B.
We will be back..

Room Tip: The front desk personnel are very good about describing sites that will fit your rig. We were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomgauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waves
22.5 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
23.8 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
21.9 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
27.7 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
28.3 mi away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#9 of 15 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground

Property: Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground
Address: Highway 12 MP 40.5, PO Box 10, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27968
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Waves
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Ocean front and Sound front campground on the Outer Banks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Hatteras Rv Hotel Waves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing