We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camp Hatteras - Family Tradition”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great Campground, right on the beach and not in the middle of crazyness. When the wind is blowing bugs aren't bad. We comeback to this campground every summer and enjoy it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 208 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

I really enjoyed this campground. I read all the reviews and I am suprised by some people that had trouble with unfriendly staff. ALL the staff that we had contact with were So friendly and helpful.....we even had a little problem with our toilet in our camper and they even had someone help us. They helped with all our question about finding things we wanted to see around the outerbank since this was our first time to OBX. The beach was great and the pools were great too. Thought it was great that they had a big lobby that you could go into anytime to watch tv or do puzzles or anything and a kitchen you could cook in which if you were staying in a tent would be great! Bathhouses were all clean and never lost hot water in the showers. We stayed here with our four kids for 5 nights. A little on the expensive side but still was a great time!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolekline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I read all the previous reviews and some are good but most are unrealistic. You are camping, you know "roughing it". This is not a hotel. It is a place to get away from the pressures of the world. We have been staying here every other wekend for the past 2 years and love it. Could it be better, of course. Could it be worse, absolutely. Bring your own drinking water when camping, thats an unwritten camping rule. For most of the posters here I would say sell your campers to real campers you are more suited to room service. The OBX are not for everyone if you want a great time with minimal outside world contact it is great. If you are spoiled stay home.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MRROB1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We had a very nice time on our 3 night Spring Break get-a-way. We traveled with a large party of 11 families. We were all given lot assignments that were together. We only had one snag...two of us who were staying in the permanent rental units, and were supposed to be staying next to each other and we were refused our prepaid, guaranteed lots when we arrived. My unit was moved 3 sites down, and our next-door friend was moved to another location, about 100 yards from our group. This was VERY disappointing, since we were guaranteed our lot assignment. Otherwise, we had a great time. The rental trailers were nicer than expected, but the bed left a LOT to be desired. VERY uncomfortable. All-in-all...great experience, with nice ammenities and very family friendly. We would go back, but maybe with our own mattress.

Room Tip: You might not get the lot you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunVAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Pleasant staff, good facilities, all as advertised.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cflaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

Bought a new Escalade camper.....we called about 8 weeks in advance to make sure we would be staying in a great place, 6 nites, convenient to bathroom, etc. front row ocean. We also made it clear that we would be arriving 2 days before our other guests. Our daughter would need a space. She and her husband would be staying in a tent with their two dogs. We wished to stay side by side and were assured that would be no problem. A hefty deposit, non refundable by the way was required. Never having been there, I requested 2 spots, side by side, premium spots, ones that would offer the very best accomidations. We were informed that spots 42 and 43 would be available. THEN WE ARRIVED AFTER AN 8 HOUR TRIP!........according to the front dest the spots were gone, no one was there, no campers on the site but apparently those spots were reserved for someone else. The policy, first come first serve, no longer existed, at least for us. After a long bickering and trying to move us away from the sites we originally paid for finally they gave us site 43. No one was in 42 for the first 2 days and the campers in 44 moved out after 2 nites. Then no one showed up in site 42 until 4 days later in a small camper from Michigan. We were under the impression that site 42 must have been reserved for long time campers, but when they arrived we found out they had never been there before.

The tent situation was a nightmare. They charged us for a tent and surprisengly realized (after payment) that a tent wasn't allowed on that site at all. So, to keep our family together and not be squashed together in the camper, we decided to rent one of the small mobile units for our daughter and her dogs then realized, after signing an agreement late at nite, the dogs weren't welcome. So the dogs had to sleep outside in the car. Thankfully we read the agreement before going to bed, brought crates that were supposed to be in the tent ,and kept the dogs in the car because they would have charged us $100.00 additional for the dogs. The mobile home was $120.00 a nite plus a $150.00 security charge. This is apparently a great place to go for long time users, but not for beginners. It was so expensive and such a waste of time and money. Go to a hotel. They make you pay for nites planned on staying, IN ADVANCE, not nites actually stayed. Hotels will at least let you check out and not pay for nites when you want to go home. Their only resolve: if you don't want to stay for your PAID IN ADVANCE nites, they will give you a gift card to come back anytime..........The Comfort Inn is just about 30 minutes south go there!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank pad4058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This was first time here and we were 2 rows from the beach. The spots were level, clean and decent room between sites. The beach was very nice. The pool was very warm and kids loved it. The sunset over the bay which was right across the street was nice. The bay side was very quiet and calm but the beach side was not noisy as most people were at beach or out. There was ice cream place right next door and there was also wave runner rentals on-site. It was a very relaxing fun vacation where everyone enjoyed themselves. The layout was very safe for kids to play and go bike riding. Front staff was very helpful as we forgot some critical meds and had it shipped to CG and front desk called us as soon as UPS delivered the package. We also rented a car from local place just down the road. No complaints at all. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtbr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Hatteras RV Resort and Campground

Address: Highway 12 MP 40.5, PO Box 10, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27968
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Waves
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waves
Price Range: $25 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Ocean front and Sound front campground on the Outer Banks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Hatteras Rv Hotel Waves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing