We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
192
20
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
192
20
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real watersports bar and grill kite boarders the outer banks three bedroom place to stay surf shop kiteboarding lessons taking lessons perfect spot learning how first class accommodations gear storage world class family vacation sound side up to date
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 215 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2018

Waterman's Retreat has lots of activities to keep busy. Our family stayed in a 3 bedroom cabana, which had plenty of room for our family of 4. Very clean, almost new, comfortable beds, basic appliances, nicely furnished. The only missing thing was a table where we could all sit and eat, only a pub table with stools. Short walk to the beach, or you can drive the couple of blocks with plenty of free parking right next to beach access. We LOVED the jet ski tour! Our boys (18 & 20) had a blast!
We were able to stay Monday-Friday (not the typical Sat-Sat rental) to accommodate our schedule, which was great. Our friends were also staying at WR. They were in a 3 BR waterfront retreat, which is beautiful. If our family gets a chance to come again, we will stay there instead of the cabana only to be closer to the live music, bar & grill, and so we can watch the kiteboarders taking off. We would highly recommend Watermen's Retreat.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ja_south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaPeele, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

So glad your family enjoyed your visit!! We love the family atmosphere in the evenings when we have live music, great sunsets and yummy food from Watermen's Bar & Grill.

With a 4 night minimum during the summer we are able to have guests that are not able to take a complete week off work. By the same token, if you are coming for a week, that can be any 7 nights... you do not have to stick to Saturday to Saturday or Sunday to Sunday. Lots of flexibility.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us!

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018

I've been to many resorts all over the country and this is one of my top choices when coming to the Outer Banks. The Watermen's retreat itself, has a very warm family feel. The two bedroom we stayed in had a very nice modern beachy style. It was extremely clean and had a nice large kitchen fully stocked with plates, pots and pans, etc. Our room view was wonderful because we could watch all the kitesurfing right out on the bay. Another plus, is having the Real watersports right next door for all our kitesurfing needs and to go and have our lunch and dinners. The food, by the way, was so delicious and fresh and all the staff were all extremely friendly and attentive. My family loves coming here and can't wait to return.

Room tip: Get a room on first floor so you don't have to go up too many stairs with baggage.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCmom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaPeele, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We do love the family atmosphere and love watching families having fun together! Lots of great weather left if you can find your way back! 50% off rates start in October and go until spring of 2019. We would love to see you again!

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed watermans retreat. Very comfortable and great location next to real. Also enjoyed our back patio with great views of the water and all the amazing kite boarders. I highly recommend watermans retreat.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mikefierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaPeele, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Mike,
Glad you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for taking the time to let us know! We are opened year round and have some great weather left! Fall rates are reduced and then 50% off starting October 8th until spring of 2019.

Come back and see us!

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

The staff at Watermen’s are amazing! These people really love where they work and it shows. Such a beautiful area. We didn’t stay long enough for lessons but will be back for sure. Our cottage was immaculate, simple, and just what we needed for a good night’s sleep!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BoardingPass710137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaPeele, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Oh, please do come back! We would love to get you in lessons. We have some great weather coming up this fall! Rates go to 50% off starting October 8th.

Come see us!

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018

Waterman's Retreat was absolutely PERFECT in every way. Clean, spacious, well laid out. Every amenity you could want. Big Screen TV was awesome. The entertainment on the water was GREAT. Never saw anyone kite sail before! The sunsets were spectacular and the deck was perfect. Next door the food was way beyond expectations....we ate there twice!! Don't hesitate, GO!!!!!

Room tip: Beds were comfortable, furniture was comfortable.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janeguy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaPeele, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Jane,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to you heading back this way.

Take care,
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews