We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
192
20
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
192
20
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real watersports bar and grill kite boarders the outer banks three bedroom place to stay surf shop kiteboarding lessons taking lessons perfect spot learning how first class accommodations gear storage world class family vacation sound side up to date
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 215 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2018

Great accommodations adjacent to the Real lesson center. Roll out of bed and out onto the water! Comfortable rooms to recover from those awesome days out on the water.
Clean well stocked kitchen allows you to do as little or as much cooking as you want. Of course the restaurant is right next door, and has a good selection.

Room tip: Water front rooms are awesome for sunset, and for just enjoying watching kiteboarders shredding.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Departure583391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

That's a good day when you roll out of bed and stumble to the water! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us!
donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

First class accommodations, from furnishings to food and everything in between. Great views of the sound, spotless cleanliness. Highly recommend staying here, especially if you are a water sports enthusiast.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jarcher2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2018

Thanks for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your visit! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2018

These units are very comfortable, they have all the amenities of home. Everything from tvs with Apple TV to the full kitchen and washer and dryer, there is nothing you need to bring. The views of the bay are great and the location is steps away from REAL.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ety1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Thank you for taking time to give us some feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you heading back this way in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

If you want the most terrific views, opt for the third floor Sound side. We very much enjoyed our mult-night stay in The Slick which offers tremendous views of the awesome kiteboarding, training exercises, the restaurant with live music three nights weekly, and the amazing sunsets. Should you want a bit more privacy, reserve the Planet...also third floor with great views. The balconies are large, the rooms spacious and well-appointed, and the kitchens are very well equipped. Just be sure to bring most of your food and drink items with you as none are provided, except at additional cost. Also, housekeeping is NOT provided in your room charges, but is available for a minimum of $100 extra per day that you require service.

Room tip: Reserve your condo on the Pamlico Sound for the greatest views of sunset and all of the kiteboarding activities.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dlltre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2018

Thank you for taking time to write a great review. The sunsets are incredible - aren't they? We love repeat guests so we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2018

Beautiful location for learning how to kite board, shallow water.
I liked the idea of having your coach follow you on a jetski the whole time.
All coaches were great but I highly recommend Eric.
Eric got me wake boarding the first day and up kiting a few yards the second afternoon.
He truly enjoys teaching and is in the water with you helping you do your water starts.
We loved our beautiful room at the retreat.
Great food at the Watermen’s grill.
Super friendly and helpful staff.
Donna and Matt run a great Kite boarding camp, probably one of the best in Cape Hatteras.
Mike and Jessy from pro shop were so helpful in getting me set up with new gear at a reasonable price and shipping it out to my house.
My husband and I will definitely come back to this fun and very unique kite boarding retreat again soon.
You can’t buy happiness
but you can buy a kite!
Tamara Jones

Room tip: Beautiful rooms all around. Nice balconies with ocean or partial ocean view. Our favorite was the Rodanthe room.
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tahitigirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018

Tamara, We LOVE happy clients and it was a great pleasure to watch you have so much fun! We look forward to seeing you again on the east coast!

Spread the stoke!!
donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews