We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cape Pines Motel(Buxton)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$186
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tar Heel Motel(Nags Head)
$169
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Side Hotel(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
165
16
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
16
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal watersportsbar and grillthe outer bankssurf shopthree bedroomtaking lessonsfood for breakfastbring our dogsearly marchplace to staylooking forward to going backexcellent accommodationsrental shopan incredible experiencefirst class accommodationsate lunch and dinnerlearn how
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 184 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2017

We spent a weekend at Watermen's Retreat so my husband and brother-in-law could hone their kite boarding skills. The condo on the Sound side of the building was lovely- immaculate, well-furnished, beautiful view. We took advantage of the restaurant and enjoyed dinner there one night. Parking was convenient, and all of the provisions to store equipment etc were great. Beach/ocean access was an easy walk away.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

Amy,
I am so glad you guys enjoyed your stay! We will continue to have live music 3 nights a week through the summer, as well great wind and sun. We hope to see you back this way!

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2017

Accommodations were excellent -Home away from home-full kitchen -washer dryer-comfortable living room and comfortable beds-Across the street from Kiteboarding which we were doing for the time spent there-

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come back and see us again!
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017

We had a wonderful time in Shacks Beach. The house was ideally located just steps from a private and secluded beach. The rooms were nice and the house had everything one needed for a home away from home. It made this a very special family vacation and we plan to come back again. Bring Your swimsuit and snorkel gear and enjoy!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank xier25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

It is a great location isn't it? So glad you enjoyed your visit. I would love to hear about all of the things you did while you were there!

Thank you for taking time to write a review!
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017

Our little family spent 4 days at the Watermen's Hideout. My wife and I, two kids under 4, and my mother-in-law. The location is awesome and the view from the kitchen of the sound is wonderful. The Hideout has a little private back deck, yard, and pier into the Sound. The cottage is comfortable and decorated nicely. The location next to REAL is primo, especially when you are taking lessons. The whole complex is great, the staff is awesome. We are looking forward to going back again! '

I have to stress that the entire staff at REAL is fantastic. Everyone from the groundskeeper in the morning to the owner were extremely friendly and stoked on life.

Room Tip: Keep an eye out for deer in the backyard around sunset. My daughters loved watching them nibble with the sun setting in the background.
Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

Super stoke! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. I will definitely share it with the team.

See you again soon!
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017

I actually won a week's stay there. i stayed in a penthouse and couldn't have been happier. The view was great and the staff was incredible. No one in my family kite boards; however, watching it off the balcony was an incredible experience!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mike_purefoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

So stoked that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again some time!!

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews