We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Cape Pines Motel(Buxton)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tar Heel Motel(Nags Head)
$169
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Side Hotel(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
165
16
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
16
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal watersportsbar and grillthe outer bankssurf shopthree bedroomtaking lessonsfood for breakfastbring our dogsearly marchplace to staylooking forward to going backexcellent accommodationsrental shopan incredible experiencefirst class accommodationsate lunch and dinnerlearn how
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 184 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2017

I actually won a week's stay there. i stayed in a penthouse and couldn't have been happier. The view was great and the staff was incredible. No one in my family kite boards; however, watching it off the balcony was an incredible experience!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mike_purefoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2017

So stoked that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again some time!!

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2017

Everything those of us who kite would like to find in a resort is there. Comfortable and well-equipped apartments, great food, excellent launching space at your door front, friendly and knowledgeable staff, all the equipment you may need to buy or rent, excellent teaching and constant wind.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Eduardo,
We loved having you stay with us! We hope you enjoyed the concierge service and that you loved arriving and having your groceries waiting on you!

We hope to see you again soon!
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2017

Seven of us spent three days at REAL staying on campus at Watermen's Retreat. If you've ever been to a well run heli ski operation, this is very similar. The staff was incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and stoked to be there. Rooms in Watermen's were large, clean, and front row to the kiting action. The food is awesome/healthy, they had a band playing music every evening/night, kiting landing/launching is dialed, the retail and the help inside the store is bar none the best I've encountered anywhere for any sport. Half the group was new to kiting and took lessons, the rest of us ripped around all day and had an amazing time. Once the newbies got the hang of it, we did a few down-winders with their coaches who were on kites and a jetski which was gave the newbies a boost of confidence. If you are a seasoned kiter or a newbie, REAL is the real deal, overall 10 out of 10, thanks a million for a great long weekend.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnwV8500WN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

THANKS! We love guests that are stoked not only for Watermen's Retreat but the whole package - REAL Watersports with all of the lessons & gear that anyone would want and Watermen's Bar & Grill which knock it out of the park 7 days a week 9a - 9p!

Come back and see us!
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

We come to Cape Hatteras each spring to go kiteboarding and usually stay with a big group in a big house. This year my girlfriend and I thought at the last minute it would be nice to be a little more low key and stay with another couple in a smaller house. It was the right decision, we could go visit our friends anytime we wanted but it was pretty easy to escape the chaos of a house with 10+ people to our quaint vacation home! Watermens Oasis had everything we needed and seemed to be recently renovated with a modern touch for an OBX rental!

The outdoor showers and massive porch were definitely bonus' for me and the open concept kitchen / living room was great for cooking and socializing. To top it all of we had 5 days of SouthWest wind with 80F+ for kiteboarding and some nice clean, fun but small waves for surfing and SUP. Fully scored with the house and conditions :) Cant wait to come back...

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

Super excited you enjoyed your stay! come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017

Watermen's retreat has long been a favorite location for kiteboarding. Only problem was they did not accept pets. They still do not at their premiere Real Kiteboarding property where I have stayed several times. When I discovered they had Cabanas across the street that were pet friendly I quickly changed my reservation. Normally my son and I make the trip alone. Now my wife, who does not kiteboard, can come along and bring our dogs - yellow lab and Cavalier. She was going to paddle board however, we had 3 days of steady southerlies so while we were on the water until we dropped she was with the dogs enjoying the sun.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Aengh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

We are happy to add the Cabanas to our rental properties! Guests still get launching and landing @ REAL Watersports, which is conveniently located just across the street, but now they can bring their 4 legged family members as well!

I am glad you enjoyed your trip and we look forward to your return.

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews