We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watermen's Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cape Pines Motel(Buxton)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging(Buxton)(Great Value!)
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$277
$233
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$140
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Side Hotel(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
159
14
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
14
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal watersportsbar and grillthree bedroomthe outer bankssurf shopawesome place to stayexcellent accommodationsfood for breakfasttaking lessonswalk downstairsbring our dogsearly marchperfect spotfamily vacationlearning howlooking forward to going backrental shop
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 176 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

Waterman 's Condo's a great location if you're in to spend time at the neighboring REAL for kiteboarding, lessons or events at REAL. We were in for Triple S so pricing much higher it's usually a sell out on the rooms so book anywhere from a year in advance. The rooms are beautiful and there's a selection of how many bedrooms you may like, parking and a lower storage area for your gear with locks.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Cjrichards33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2016

Triple S is always a BLAST! Not only the pro kiteboarders from all over the world competing but 7 nights of live music. Way too much fun. We are now taking reservations for Triple S - 2017, June 3 -10th.

Glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016

Watermen's and REAL have got it figured out. Great location, great accommodations, great food/drink, and great service. Did I say great food? This place would blow up in CLT. Add in some live outdoor music and you have perfection. Can't wait to get back to OBX.

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brian-hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

I LOVE the phrase Mantopia! so glad you had a great visit. It is always good to see you head back this way.

Don't forget we have discounted rates starting in mid August which will be just in time for some fall kiting. Live music continues through October.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016

This was our first stay at Watermen's and it won't be our last. We stayed in the 3rd floor penthouse and now we are spoiled. The space was beautiful with modern furnishings and Apple TV . We had the perfect view of the Sound. Every staff member we ran into were engaging and greeted us with a smile. The restaurant and store are super cool because you can walk to both from your space. We heard Jeremy Russell one night and it was so much fun. We loved watching all of the kite boarders.

Room Tip: We have only stayed on the 3rd floor so my tip is... The third floor is the best!
Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank OBX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. You are exactly right in the fact the views from the penthouse are incredible.

Live music continues through the fall so perhaps you can make another trip.

See you soon.

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

I have stayed several times solo and with my wife and son. Recommend the sound side suites for the sunset and viewing the kiteboarding.great food available on site.Even if you are not kiteboarding, surfing, or paddle boarding you will love the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Sound side rooms.
Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andye59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2016

Thank you for taking time to send us some feedback. We appreciate our returning guests and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2016

Just fantastic! After 4 days, 11yr old son was able to ride upwind, self-rescue, do hops & transitions and ride a strapless surfboard. Great instructor who always had him dialed in the right spot with the right gear and a huge smile.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 101luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, General Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Luke,
Thanks for the great feedback and really excited for you and your son to be able to kite together! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews