We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watermen's Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cape Pines Motel(Buxton)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lighthouse View Oceanfront Lodging(Buxton)(Great Value!)
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$277
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Side Hotel(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
159
14
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
159
14
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreal watersportsbar and grillthree bedroomthe outer bankssurf shopawesome place to stayexcellent accommodationsfood for breakfasttaking lessonswalk downstairsbring our dogsearly marchperfect spotfamily vacationlearning howlooking forward to going backrental shop
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 176 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2015

The condo was nicely designed. Nice balcony space. Did have problems with ceiling fan and light in bedroom, called front desk which pretty much said, sorry about your luck. Beds were very uncomfortable and found one of the slats on our bed was broke, and we're not big people. No beach access unless you drive, which gets old. Biggest plus was the condo appearance and it was fun watching the kite boarders.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaPeele, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2015

Kelly...Thank you for your feedback. We try very hard to make sure our clients are comfortable and have a good time! I will check out the bed situation and as shared from the front desk, the electrical issues with the ceiling fan had to be referred to an off island electrician. We hope you enjoyed Hatteras Island and you will come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2015

Waterman's Retreat was spectacular. Very affordable for the family. The condo was beautiful with state of the art appliances. They virtually thought of everything right down to the quality of the bed linens. I brought my family of 5 and we rented a 3 bedroom. It worked out great. We ate at the waterman's resturant each night. It is located on the property 15 yards away from the condos. The food was 5 stars and reasonably priced. It overlooks the sound which provides for spectacular sunsets. We actually came to learn to kitesurf at Real, and we are now hooked. The instruction was world class as were the conditions. We went with private and semi private lessons. Not cheap but we wanted to ensure we came away sailing and we did. All in all an incredible experience. We are going back!!

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 720dolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaPeele, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2015

Super stoked you had a great time! We love Happy Clients! Please come back and see us. We have some discounted rates starting mid August...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015

We have stayed here before and love staying at Watermen's. Great place good service! We hope to come back here again in next year. Anyone interested in traveling to the Outer Banks should really look into Watermen's.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank A7375BLsamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2015

Sam, super stoked to see you return again this year. Look forward to seeing you again soon. We have some great specials in the fall and the wind is great for kiting...maybe another trip?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2015

Third time I've hosted a group of friends at Watermen's Retreat in Waves, Cape Hatteras, NC. We had 12 folks the week of TripleS at Real Watersports. Watermen's is an amazing spot! And the restaurant is a jewel. I highly recommend!! I will be back!

Room Tip: Penthouse ocean front views are amazing!!
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2015

Charlie... Hope you guys had a great time! You are a great group of folks and it is always a pleasure to see you return. Some of your friends are coming back in August... hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015

Overall an amazing stay -- the accommodations and the staff are excellent. The only negative was a family with two very young children above us who were up at 6am every morning and did not keep the children from running around making much noise overhead. There was no sleeping in for us.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susan_budinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaPeele, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2015

Susan, I apologize for the early risers above you. Let's try to get you in the penthouse the next time you visit us... that will give you the top floor and incredible views. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews