We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The feeling of joining a Private Club for the Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Watermen's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watermen's Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The feeling of joining a Private Club for the Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Watermen's Retreat, coupled with first class instruction at REAL Watersports, is the perfect combination - excellent condo, on site, perfect access ... it simply can not be any easier or more convenient. My daughter and I recently did a three day, Memorial Weekend, father/daughter get-a-way to begin the Kite Boarding learning curve. The condo was crisp, clean, well designed, new appliances and flat screen TV's. Five star. The location and access to the learning center, the huge retail store, the grassy launch area for the kites, Mojo's for bfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails ... absolutely perfect. Exhausting days on the water, but with totally stress free and relaxation on the land. We will be back ... with the whole family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
25
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Waterman's Retreat is the place to stay in Waves/Rodanthe/Avalon area. It is sits right next to REAL Watersports where you can use there launch site to access the REAL slick. The rooms are super comfortable and incredibly maintained. Everything looked new even though the resort is a couple of years old.

My buddy and I stayed at the Avalon Pier room. Each room had a flat screen tv and the living room had a Bose entertainment center. The kitchen was fully stocked and everything was clean. The only funky thing was the underground parking. There is not a lot of room for a larger vehicle so those need to park outside. Also, in the underground garage each guest of Watermen's gets his own gear storage room complete with a clothes line and lots of hooks to hang your stuff. There was free wifi which was very fast and had a good signal.

We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewart040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

I recently stayed at Watermen's for a REAL Zero to Hero camp. I brought my kids and my mom to baby sit while I was in camp. It was an awesome trip, in no small part due to the excellent condo we stayed in. It was very clean and very stylish! The view of the Sound was awesome and if you are going to kite/surf/SUP with REAL there is really no other option. The reservation process was easy and the communication between Donna and Brandon was excellent. I IGHLY recommend it and can't wait to get back! The only hic-cup was there were multiple wifi signals for the building and the password they gave was for one of them, and it wasn't made clear which one it was for. But that was minor in the whole scheme of things.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the Sound. The view of the Slicks is great and you can see kiters all over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Waterman's is the place to be. The rooms are incredible, new, fresh, huge and best of all...right next to Real Watersports and MoJo's Cafe! Went for Zero2Hero camp at Real and had a blast. On my way to being a kiteboarder thanks to Real and Donna at Waterman's Retreat. Will definitely be back and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was waterside and had amazing views of the water. Had a great time hanging out on our balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Excellent location and friendly staff. If you looking to be right on the water and at the center of all the kiteboarding action this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is our 2nd stay at Watermen's and I will definitely be back in 2012. We are a kiteboarding family and this place has it all. Great location in front of the world famous slick, beautiful lawn to set up your equipment (bent grass, compressors, sand bags, etc.), rental shop, lockers, showers, biggest watersports store in the OBX, Mojo's cafe, terrasse, etc...). What about the Watermen's condo, simply beautiful, I felt like I wanted to stay there forever.
Thanks to Donna, Matt and Kriss!
Mario

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CabrinhaKitesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

My friends and I came to Waves to enjoy the wind and surf for which Cape Hatteras is recognized around the world. We have stayed in rental houses in the area before, but now that we have experienced Watermen's Retreat we will certainly be returning guests. The service was friendly, the condo unit was well equipped, sophisticated in its design and impeccably clean. I would recommend the units facing Pamlico Sound - watching the kiteboarding action on the water and the breathtaking sunsets are worth the slightly higher rate.

Since we arrived late at night we were able to arrange for groceries to be delivered to our room. This option made the next morning much easier and enjoyable!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmcin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waves
21.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
24.6 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
21.0 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
26.9 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
20.9 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermen's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermen's Retreat

Property: Watermen's Retreat
Address: 25682 Highway 12, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27982
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Waves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watermen's Retreat is designed with three living floors, all with breathtaking views of the Pamlico Sound and Atlantic Ocean. The first floor consists of six 1,000 sq ft, 2 bedroom/1.5 Bathroom units. The 2nd and 3rd floors have larger spaces with four 1,500 sq ft 3 bedroom/2.5 Bathroom units on each floor. Whether you choose "Waterfront" or "Waterview," you will be treated to plenty of Pamlico Sound and Atlantic Ocean views and the best sunrises and sunsets on the planet! All Watermen's Retreat Condominiums feature: Teak Floors, Tile Bathrooms, Carpet Bedroom (all new), 2 or 3 Bedrooms, all with king and queen sized beds. Full Kitchen with Granite Cocktail Bar, Great Room with Leather Furniture and Waterviews, Flat Screen TVs, DVD, CD and MP3 Stereo, Wireless Internet, Waterfront and/or Waterview Decks, Gear Storage, Covered Parking and Elevator. Watermen's Hideout has been added in 2015. This two bedroom cottage is waterfront and pet friendly. We are within a very short walk to REAL Watersports and Watermen's Bar & Grill. We do partial weekly rentals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing