We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Visit”

Goose Creek State Park
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Visit”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I can't believe I have lived near this park for years and never visited. I had a wonderful time browsing in the visitor center, having a picnic lunch and walking the trails.
The park is very well kept. Only suggestion would be to improve the signage.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank GmaSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A foavorite spot”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love to zip over and take a hike any time of year here. Lots of water access and swamp to explore. It even has a little beach for summertime dips in the river. Good hiking and camping too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank rbsipprell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a nice park with well kept trails. The visitor center has a great variety of stuffed animals. I had no idea geese are that large!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tjcoxnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West End, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Winter or late fall”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Go in winter after the flies and mosquitos leave. Good photos to be had on the beach walk. Good parking, marked trails, nice bathrooms

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluesail57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
720 reviews
302 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 646 helpful votes
“Short visit, but well worth the hike”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Goose Creek State Park is located a short drive from downtown Washington, NC. There are several hikes available throughout the park, as well as a visitor's center and campgrounds. I only had a short time for a hike in order to make it back to town before the restaurants closed on Sunday evening.

I made a quick stop inside the visitor's center. There was not much to see, just a few displays and a discovery room for children. I grabbed a park map and chose to walk along the Palmetto Boardwalk. The boardwalk takes you through the marsh on a handicapped assessable trail and is approximately 1.5 miles total in length (0.7 mile one way). You will have the opportunity to see some wildlife such as dragonflies, birds and frogs. However, the marsh and the trees and moss are what makes this hike worthwhile. I found the trees and other brush growing from the swamp to be an interesting contrast to what you normally find in a forest.

The rest of the park looked interesting, and will likely return to hike along the other trails. There are a lot of deer in the park, and you are likely to find them walking across the road. The park is free to hike. They do take donations. The park itself is easy to find since there are signs leading the way along the highway.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goose Creek State Park also viewed

Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 
Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Goose Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing