We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent fish”
Review of On The WaterFront

On The WaterFront
Ranked #14 of 70 Restaurants in Washington
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Brand new. Seafood, Steaks and more. Beautiful setting, great prices, and out of this world homemade desserts. Also, a shelffish steam bar.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent fish”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

if you like fish dishes this is the place to go. From stuffed flounder to stuffed shrimp all was good. Right on the warter for a great setting

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank marylandtraveler1B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    63
    20
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimesland, NC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Believe all the Naysayers”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This past Friday, February 22, I wanted to take some very special friends out for an evening of fine food. Someone told me about On the Waterfront and I went on line to see what others thought about it. The reviews were not as good as I had hoped. Some were very negative and I really debated if this was the place I wanted to take my friends. I decided to take a chance and I am so glad I did. The food and service were both fantastic. We all had different main dishes, rom steak, to shrimp and grits, to crab cake, to grilled salmon. ALL were prepared to perfection.....yes as one said in another review, the steak was not one of those super thick ones, but was cooked exactly to the degree of doneness as requested. The grilled salmon I had was probably the best I have had anywhere, and I have had it at a number of different places. For an appetizer we had the crab dip and could not believe the huge amount of crab dip that was served......we ran out of toast points before we ran out of crab, and they gladly brought more toast points for us. The service was fantastic, our waitress did a fantastic job of being there when we needed something, but not to the point of hovering. Thank you On the Waterfront for providing a wonderful eating experience for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wake forest NC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sit on the patio”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Fairly new place to eat in Washington (used to be the pirates pub). Great view of Washington waterfront. We docked the boat and walked to the restaurant. Little on the pricy side Four people appetizers, food and cocktails was $220 before the tip. But the food was excellent. I had the bacon wrapped scallops and the seafood Alfredo. Both were very well done. I would advise that you sit away from the oyster bar if a band is playing. (way too loud) I actually had to point at the menu for my waitress to take my order (she couldn't hear me).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bgshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, disappointing food”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

First visit was to sit at the oyster bar for steamed oysters shucked in front of you, and beer. This was excellent. Second visit, with friends, we sat in the dining room, all had different entrees, and all were under-whelmed. Nothing bad, but nothing notable or exciting. Fried sea food was heavily battered and greasy, salad minimal, slaw not good, wine list offered low end choices and poor selection. Third visit, again to the dining room, found nothing memorable or "foodie" worthy. Last visit was in the casual oyster bar room where the fish sandwich was less than ordinary, the slaw in edible and tasteless, the "aoli" a thin, pink liquid which had to be poured, not spread. They have gotten the decor, ambiance and location right. There is no excuse for not having excellent seafood in Eastern North Carolina. If they achieve that, their rating will go from 3 to 5 stars.

Helpful?
1 Thank g0lfntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent for quallity food”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good service, had lunch, every thing was prepared chef quality food! Great location and a warm atmosphere and a quality wine list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On The WaterFront also viewed

Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 
Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 
Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to On The WaterFront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing