We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Washington
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
“Bait and Switch”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The rate was 45% higher at time of arrival versus when I booked online. At 12:30 am I had little choice but to stay the night. I cancelled my second night's reservation. The general manager changed the policy and will not honor Government Rates for personal travel. I was not informed in advance. I was casually asked the purpose of my trip (as in small talk), then told that my booked rate of $83 would not be honored. Instead I had to pay $120.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Will K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    106
    70
    40
    17
See reviews for
110
75
21
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were just there in April and we enjoyed our stay there so much that when our church came back in May I suggested that we stay there. There wasn't any bad feed back When asked how did they like it the responsed was what is there not to like

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The room for two nights was clean, but a bit musty (from humidity??). The employees were friendly and attentive. It is located right off the main HWY into the town and close to a few food options.....

Room Tip: Avoid the hot breakfast as the option is to microwave the egg dishes in the plastic wrapper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdindio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

On my recent stay at the Hampton Inn Washington in NC, I was totally surprised at the knock on the door at 9 AM on day of checkout. The housekeeping lady on the other side asked me if I was preparing for checkout. She woke me up at 9 AM to make sure I was preparing for checkout at 11. When asked why she would wake me up at 9 when checkout was at 11 she said she was told to do that. I was not happy! I was only staying for one day. Was not able to arrive in Washington, NC until after 6 pm. Was SO looking forward to sleeping in!

Since I was now awake, I went downstairs for continental breakfast. I let the lady at the front desk know about my early wake-up knock. Let her know I'd stayed at Hampton Inn, Hilton Garden, Embassy Suites, and Hilton and many other hotels not associated with Hilton many times in the last 30 years and had never been contacted by phone or a knock on the door prior to check-out. She apologized.

After packing, I went back to the front desk. I was still very unhappy about the wake-up call and asked her might I be given some sort of compensation. She took $6.77 off the cost of my $128.54 one night stay. I guess that was better than nothing, but it seems to me I was the only one who felt it unacceptable to have paid for a room, adhered to the rules (check-in 3pm, check-out 11 am) and received the response I did.

5/26/2014 Beth (tired in Washington, NC)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethhendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Hotel was nicely appointed with a good, friendly staff. Beds fairly comfortable w/nice, fluffy pillows Though not used, fitness & pool areas looked nice. Internet worked well in room w/more than one device. Not a fan of their "hot breakfast" (pre-packaged items), but adequate w/all the other fresh "continental style" items including a waffle maker. Not sure what else Washington has to offer for hotels, but this one is newer & conveniently located.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank coglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel room was clean and quite. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful so much that we left a tip for them.

The bad:
The breakfast we did not bother with because it look like processed food and not much to chose from.
The morning to afternoon staff was not friendly, but the evening to overnight staff was friendly.
The last day we were to stay at this hotel turned from okay to bad quickly. I booked the room under the AARP special which entitled us to late check out (2:00), so on the way to my room I decided to check to make sure the late check out was noted on my account. The front desk person looked at my account and told me it was not noted for late check out and she could give me 12:00pm. I told the front desk person I would go to my room and get my lap top. I arrived to my room to find the internet was no longer working, so I called downstairs and was told they had no idea why it was not working. I went to the lobby to use my computer and it still didn't work. I was never told there were computers behind where I was sitting. I ask to speak to the manager and the manager told me they were booked and needed the room and couldn't give me a 2:00 check out. I explained my family are suppose to meet us at the hotel at 2:00 that's why we needed the late check out. Well i went to the computers located in the lobby and notice my receipt did not have the late check out special listed, so i call customer service. The customer service department did find the 2:00 check out time, but told me it was based upon the hotel's needs. I walked back to the front desk and was told by the manager yes AARP members do get late check out on a need basis. The young lady at the front desk informed me that the manager looked the AARP guidelines up online prior to me coming back to the counter and also customer service had just called the hotel. All of a sudden the hotel became not full to capacity and I was given the 2:00 late check out. I went to my room disgusted and after talking with my family we decided to leave the hotel early and find somewhere else to meet up prior to us leaving.
The staff and manager made a simple situation turn into a major ordeal and also to lie and say the hotel was full and it wasn't made the situation even worse. There is no reason why it should have taken close to an hour to resolve this issue.
This was my first time staying at an Hampton Inn and it will probably be my last........

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfnbbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed here on business for a week or so. I can tell you that this is the ONLY place in Washington NC to stay. The Hotel is clean, the rooms are comfortable and up to date, the staff is caring, and accommodating.

I have stayed in at least Hampton inns as a Diamond Member of Hilton on more Hampton Inn's than most, and I can say this Hotel is around a 95%........

I highly recommend this Hampton inn.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 7 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Washington
Magnuson Hotel Washington
#2 of 7 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites-Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
#1 of 21 in Greenville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#6 of 7 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington

Property: Hampton Inn Washington
Address: 2085 W 15th St, Washington, NC 27889-3591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing