We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Port in a Storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Washington
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Washington
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Though not the best Hampton Inn I've stayed in, it's the best hoteo choice I coild find in town. I actualy had a reservation at a different hotel but when I arrived, I cancelled the reservation sitting in the parking lot...it looked that bad. I had passed this Hampton Inn and decided to give it a shot. Relatively new, it was a good choice. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was so-so and the nightly rate was a bit high but worth it to feel safe and avoid the sub-standard "other" hotels.

Room Tip: If you're a non-smoker, staying in a smoking room here is still better than a non-smoking room i...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 381 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Every hotel has standards and a level of amenities that regular travelers expect... it's why we go to one chain over another. This Hampton had its lobby remodeled recently (and looks really nice!) but... behind this first impression lies a host of issues that show this property is NOT to Hampton's usual standards:

Rooms: Splotchy paint on walls, older "used" furniture, carpeting, & mattresses, (the bed cover of one of the beds in my room was stained & ripped)... and missing grout in the bath...

Fitness area: Still has a 1990s style "stair master" (revamped Hamptons have had elliptical machines for some time) - - there is nothing but cardio (some places have added cable-type "universal" machines or free weights) ... I did not go into the indoor pool area, which did look clean.

Breakfast: This must be the only Hampton that still has a microwave for the pre-wrapped pancakes etc.... there was no fresh-cooked oatmeal, no chafing dish with the breakfast entree of the day, no hard boiled eggs ... and none of the accompanying new signage in the food service area...

I had stayed away from this hotel for a long time (another episode with similar problems), but had stopped by and saw the construction ... figured they were modernizing... but only the lobby was changed. When asked about some of these non-improvements, an employee bluntly replied, "The owner is cheap!" Kinda says it all... I'll be staying at a different chain next visit... you might want to also.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayKay1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Banta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms needed updating and it seemed the furniture was a bit abused or missing. I had an extra desk chair just sitting up against a wall next to a large open area. It was strange. The bathroom was clean enough but needed a through weekly scrub as opposed to the daily rinse. Towels and linens are almost at the end of their lifecycle. However the Hampton Inn is the nicest chain hotel in town regardless, so unless I stay at a B&B, I will likely have to use it again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Micah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Banta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Although Washington, NC seems to in the middle of nowhere, this hotel was very appropriate for our family of five. The breakfast was good and had a little more variety than the other Hamptons we've stayed in. The indoor pool was a hit with the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2autigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Banta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

I just wanted to say thanks for your recent stay here at our hotel! I’m so glad you and your family were able to experience our warm Hamptonality. We can’t wait to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were very happy with this hotel. we were given a special bereavement rate. The most comfortable bed that we have had in a hotel. I forgot to empty one of the drawers, called the front desk to see if they found my things, did not get an answer for a couple of days. I'm now waiting for them to be delivered...overall a nice experience..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were given a special bereavement rate since we were attending a memorial service for a deceased relative. Never knew this was offered by a hotel/motel before.

This hotel is up scale in comparison with other motels. The room we had was a large two queen bed unit with a nice desk and large flat screen TV. WiFi service was easy to access.

Room was clean and fresh. Complementary breakfast consisted of waffles, bagels, dry cereals, pastries, four different juices, skim and regular milk and of course coffee. I was normal basic items but they were presented in a nice clean fashion, not just thrown together as one finds at some other motels.

The only thing not to like at a Hampton Inn is the price which is about 305 to 40% higher then say a MicroTel or a Motel Super 8. But the extra cost was most evident in the quality of the property and the room.

Room Tip: Sometimes booking a room with the hotel/motel central booking service via Internet results in a gett...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although older, the rooms were kept nice except for the strong odor of deodorizer every day as if to mask something else. It was so strong, I got headaches until I got used to the odor after an hour or so. While this isn't the best part of the town, I hear this is the best place to stay...sadly. As a Hilton Gold member, I expected better. The 3-11PM girl looked and acted very much like she would have rather been somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwildcat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_Banta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Washington, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences you endured while staying with us. We will be sure to address our team members in regards to your review and we will make the necessary improvements. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Washington
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn and Suites Washington
1.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Washington
Magnuson Hotel Washington
#4 of 7 in Washington
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites-Greenville
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#6 of 7 in Washington
20 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
#1 of 22 in Greenville
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Washington

Address: 2085 W 15th St, Washington, NC 27889-3591
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: $115 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Washington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Washington Hotel Washington
Washington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing