We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Down on Mainstreet

Down on Mainstreet
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good food-home cooked Southern style and good prices. Shrimp and grits are terrific as is almost anything on the menu. We have gone there many times and never had a bad meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    90
    33
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“newbern”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great lunch. Real value for the money. Nice atmosphere; not just a bar but a good resturant. Service was very good. Just walked in and was seated during the rush hour weekend day. Really enjoyed the decor of the place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Service; Fairly Typical Casual Fare”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stopped for lunch with friends. Had the Philly Steak Sandwich, Crab Cake Sandwich, and tried the fried pickles. As fried pickles go (not our fave), OK...nice light batter and not greasy. Philly's were just fine. Crab Cake was frozen pre-fab and not hot all the way through. All and all, we'd return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FJVLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first time going here.The food was great.waitress was great.We had the club sandwich was big,two people could have split it.We we be going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fried Pickles!!!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Such a great place to visit. This is the first place I tried fried pickles and I'm hooked! Nothing like them. Always busy and the staff is always friendly. Need to try the shrimp and grits. YUMMY!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down on Mainstreet also viewed

Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 
Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Down on Mainstreet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing