We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands on owners”
Review of Down on Mainstreet

Down on Mainstreet
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
mt gretna pa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hands on owners”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a restaurant that sticks to it's strength. Consistantly good food at very fair prices. Fine balance of light faire and full entrees. Daily specials change with the season. A big friendly place !

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    90
    33
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a great place to eat. Great atmosphere. The food is usually good and a good menu to choose from.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Went by after moving in our daughter to school. Great food, great service and great atmoshere. Will be back as soon as I can make the trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwight M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURHAM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service Was Terrible!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I stopped in "Little Washington" on the way home from the beach. We were starving, and this restaurant was recommended by a volunteer at the visitor's center. She may have been correct in saying that had good food ~ I wish we had had the opportunity to try it! We were seated and our waitress returned with our water, but we indicated we needed a few more minutes with the menu. While waiting for us to scan the menu, our waitress struck up a conversation with another patron, who had picked up his "to go" order. They talked...and talked...and talked....about her relatives, about mutual friends, about local gossip. We know this because this conversation took place about 8 feet from our table! We closed the menus, made eye contact, and all the while were ignored. After 10 minutes of this, we just got up and left ~ and took our growling stomachs with us!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank barb_taylor_davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good for Lunch”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have only eaten here for lunch. The menu is varied. The portions are generous. The food is well prepared. The gumbo is excellent. I had a "shrimp burger" which was simply a large bun piled high with lightly breaded fried shrimp and some slaw. It was great. There are a number of different sections to the restaurant including some outdoor seating in the rear of the restaurant across the street from the water. The view of the water is obstructed by the cars in the parking lot. I will return here for lunch occasionally to try other menu items.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonybz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down on Mainstreet also viewed

Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 
Washington, North Carolina Coast
Washington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Down on Mainstreet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing